Follow Us on Twitter

Snow Patrol confirm new album and single (2008)

Snow Patrol

Story by Jack Foley

SNOW Patrol have confirmed that they will release their new album A Hundred Million Suns through Fiction/Polydor on October 27, 2008.

The album is preceded by the single Take Back The City, on October 13, which comes with a spectacular video shot in East London courtesy of acclaimed video director Alex Courtes (of White Stripes’ Seven Nation Army fame).

The band’s fifth studio album, A Hundred Million Suns, was recorded through the summer 2008 in Hansa Studios in Berlin (where Bowie recorded Low, Heroes and Lodger) and at Grouse Lodge deep in the Irish countryside. Written by Snow Patrol, the album has been produced by long-time producer Jacknife Lee (Bloc Party, REM, U2).

Snow Patrol are one of the biggest selling UK bands this decade and A Hundred Million Suns follows up the 2006 No.1, seven times platinum phenomenon Eyes Open, which sold an incredible 2.1 million copies in the UK and over 1 million in the USA.

Eyes Open achieved platinum awards across the world from the US and Canada to Germany, Australia and beyond, selling over 4.5 million copies in total. The single Chasing Cars has just received it’s 100,000th UK radio play and its two millionth download in the US.

Snow Patrol are among an elite group of UK artists to have achieved consecutive million selling albums – Eyes Open followed up 2003’s Final Straw which sold 1.6 million copies, achieving five times platinum status.

Commenting on the new LP, Gary Lightbody (vocals/guitars) said: “I’m so proud of this record. Everybody played out of their skin. Garret (Jacknife Lee) continued his progression from maverick genius to one of the best producers in the world. Musically, lyrically and sonically the best record we’ve made.”