Follow Us on Twitter

Solid Steel Presents: Now Listen Again - DJ Food & DK

DJ Food - Now Listen Again

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE Solid Steel Presents series of compilation albums have thrown up some gems in their time, with everyone from Hexstatic to Bonobo lending their skills in some way.

The latest, Now Listen Again from DJ Food and DK is another success for the Ninja Tune label – a funky crowdpleaser that drops dozens of classic cuts in supremely confident style.

It may lose its way into grime and R’n‘B territory towards the end of the session (from track 21 to 29 really) but the first two thirds offer a truly exhilarating workout of tracks from some of the finest acts around – all spliced together in exemplary fashion.

Some you’ll know, some you won’t be able to place, and some offer pleasant surprises – but the selections come thick and fast and combine to create a terrific party vibe,

So if you fancy Rakim dueting on the mic with Phil Oakey from The Human League, or rock drummer Cozy Powell trading beats with DJ Format, then this is the compilation CD for you.

DJ Food and DK certainly aren’t short of inspiration or invention, especially since they launched Ninja’s hugely successful Solid Steel mix series with Now, Listen six years ago.

The current main movers of the long-running and much-loved Solid Steel radio show and club night, they laid out the basic template of all that was to follow.

A dizzying, kaleidoscopic pile-up of musical styles and spoken word eclectica, all pieced together, layered and re-treated with the sort of attention to detail that only comes from nerdy obsession and music collections that need reinforced floor supports to be held safely.

It’s only fitting that they should now return with the sequel, Now, Listen Again, with higlights including Primal Scream in Hammond funk mode jamming with a northern soul version of Purple Haze, a dub mix of New Order’s classic Blue Monday (s)mashed into the vicious 2-step grime rhythm of New Flesh producer Part 2 with Fallacy on the mic, a remix selection of some of DJ Shadow’s finest selections, Cut Chemist and Pepe Deluxe trading samples with A Peck In Time and Salami Forever, and even a sample of Ronnie Hazelhurst’s Are You Being Served? Theme rounding things off in emphatic style.

Believe us, you won’t hear too many more funky compilations hitting the decks this year, so why not own it and belt it out during the summer BBQ season? The party will be one to remember…

Track listing:

  1. Roc Ya Body,‘Mic Check 1,2’-MVP [Instrumental]
  2. Listen To The DJ-Z-Trip Feat. Soup
  3. Cop That Shit-Timbaland & Magoo Feat. Missy Elliot
  4. I Know You Got Soul-Eric B & Rakim [A Cappella]
  5. Being Boiled-The Human League
  6. Stone Fox Chase-Area Code 615
  7. A Peek In Time-Cut Chemist
  8. Salami Fever-Pepe Deluxe
  9. Dance With The Devil-Cozy Powell
  10. You Hear That?-DJ Format
  11. Black Betty-Ram Jam
  12. Purple Haze-Johnny Jones & The King Casuals
  13. Revenge Of The Hammond Connection-Primal Scream
  14. Megablast-Bomb The Bass Feat. Merlin [A Cappella]
  15. Right Thing-DJ Shadow [Z-Trip’s ‘Get The Party Off’ Remix Parts 2&3]
  16. Tears-Giorgio Moroder
  17. Tickles-AC Lewis Feat. Ndidi Cascade
  18. Nannou-Aphex Twin
  19. Underground-The Irresistible Force [Ambient Mix]
  20. The Beach-New Order
  21. One Of Dem Days-Part 2 Feat. Fallacy [Remix]
  22. Painkiller-Freestylers Feat. Pendulum & Sirreal [Ed Solo & Skool Of Thought Remix]
  23. Funky-5 Deez [A Cappella]
  24. Dans Le Club-TTC [Instrumental]
  25. The Nice Up-Rodney P
  26. Reach Out-DJ Zinc [Remix]
  27. Swords In The Dirt-Roots Manuva [Qemists 03 Remix]
  28. Tarantula-Pendulum & Fresh Feat. Spyda & Tenor Fly
  29. Witness-Roots Manuva [Walworth Road Rockers Dub Steinski Rework]
  30. It’s No Secret-Jo Ann Garret
  31. Are You Being Served? Theme-Ronnie Hazelhurst [Film Version]
  32. Food For My Soul-The Dragons