Follow Us on Twitter

Sound of Girls Aloud - The Best Of...

Girls Aloud, Best Of

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 1 out of 5

IT’S hard to believe now but Girls Aloud were the creations of the ITV talent show Popstars: The Rivals way back in 2002. Back then, they sounded like just another all-girl manufactured pop group that sought to fill the void left by the likes of The Spice Girls.

Over the course of their progression, they’ve amassed 12 UK Top 10 hits, including two number ones, and three hit albums, while receiving more critical praise than a lot of their girl-group peers.

It’s little wonder, then, that they’re now releasing their greatest hits collection (in time for Christmas) which offers an intriguing but ultimately unsatisfying insight into just how much they developed in pop terms.

Early on, they were indeed just another throwaway pop group comprised of pretty girls, sexy videos and generic pop tunes. Of late, however, they’ve begun to show some quality that has helped to place them at the forefront of the pop scene.

Last album Chemistry boasts some genuinely encouraging signs that the girls are maturing nicely, with tracks like Models, Wild Horses and Swinging London Town approaching the quality of bands like Sugababes.

Sadly, and somewhat annoyingly, they’re not represented on this lame Greatest Hits collection. In fact, the only two tracks to make it from that album are the limp Kylie-wannabe Biology and the overly sentimental cover version of See The Day.

In fact, rather than saying anything special, this career retrospective offers a frightening reminder of just how hopeless their early music was. Tracks like No Good Advice emerge as shockingly low-rent Bananarama imitations, while Love Machine and Sound of the Underground are downright painful.

They’re meant to be breezy pop confections but they overdose on the sweetness and are so giddy and annoying as to spin you into a headache. Attempts to come over all serious with covers of I’ll Stand By You merely leave you pining to hear the originals.

It’s churlish to think that this greatest hits compilation won’t be among the season’s biggest sellers but given that it places such an emphasis on the early work and wretched second album What Will The Neighbours Say?, it feels like something of a missed opportunity. Even new single Something Kinda Oooh doesn’t really reflect the fuller, feistier and somewhat more satisfying sound of the better material on Chemistry.

So, really, there’s no real point in owning it.

Track listing:

  1. Sound Of The Underground
  2. Love Machine
  3. Biology
  4. No Good Advice
  5. I’ll Stand By You
  6. Jump
  7. The Show
  8. See The Day
  9. Wake Me Up
  10. Life Got Cold
  11. Something Kinda Ooooh
  12. Whole Lotta History
  13. Long Hot Summer
  14. Money
  15. What A Feeling

  1. This review smacks of someone trying to claim an ill advised ‘credibility’ instead of actually rating the music for what it is.

    Trixie    Nov 13    #