Follow Us on Twitter

Steaming Satellites - Steaming Satellites (Review)

Steaming Satellites

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

SALZBURG natives Steaming Satellites have already delivered two acclaimed albums of indie inspired rock. Their third could be their best appreciated yet.

Already drawing favourable comparisons with the likes of Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd, this is a guitar-based album that hits some really notable heights. Indeed, it takes listeners on a zig-zag journey between spacey rock caprioles, sexy funk blasts and pretty indie pearls of pop.

And yet for all of their retro sensibilities, they can also sound very contemporary with further comparisons to be made with the likes of The Black Keys, Kasabian and Maroon 5.

One of the highlights, though, has to be Circles, which is steeped in classic rock values. You’ll know you’re in for a treat when you hear the opening 20-second guitar solo, before a falsetto vocal ushers in the song proper, and an even more electric guitar riff takes over around the 40 second mark. It’s an epic offering that just keeps getting better and better… culminating in a breathtaking, Dave Gilmour-esque guitar solo.

By contrast to that psychedelia-laced blockbuster, there’s the buzzing Unreal, which zips along on a driving duo of beat and bassline, while employing another falsetto vocal that’s reminiscent of Adam Levine. It’s the sound of Steaming Satellites at their most mainstream.

Similarly, Honey immediately grabs your attention courtesy of its cute guitar hooks and a vibe that’s reminiscent of both U2 and Maroon 5 (albeit with a bittersweet edge), while Rocket also playfully combines sharp riffs with breezy electronic flourishes. And yet the vocals lend it a grittier rock edge that serves as a nice contrast.

The bluesy waltz ballad Unfold showcases an altogether more intimate side to the band, which is every bit as welcome in the way that it provides a nice change of pace; Back And Forth positively throbs with energy, and Move On rounds things off with an organ-led number that re-ignites proceedings after a brief lull.

But aside from the odd track that underwhelms or fails to register as strongly as the album’s best moments, Steaming Satellites have still delivered the type of LP that demands to be taken notice of.

Download picks: Honey, Unreal, Circles, Move On, Unfold

Track listing:

  1. Together
  2. Rocket
  3. Unreal
  4. Honey
  5. Restless Robot
  6. Door
  7. Circles
  8. Unfold
  9. Back And Forth
  10. Phone
  11. Fill The Cup
  12. Secret Desire
  13. Move On