Follow Us on Twitter

Stereophonics announce greatest hits tour and album (2008)

The Stereophonics

Story by Jack Foley

STEREOPHONICS have announced a new tour of the UK in support of their forthcoming greatest hits album, Decade In The Sun: The Best Of Stereophonics.

Beginning at Glasgow’s SECC on December 2, the band will play a total of 12 Arena shows, climaxing with a huge closing date at London’s flagship live venue, The O2 Arena, on December 20, 2008.

The tour will revisit all the best moments from the band’s ‘decade in the sun’, from early classics like The Bartender And The Thief to songs from their latest UK no. 1 album, Pull The Pin.

This impressive canon of hits will also be brought together for a first ‘best of’ collection, released November 17, 2008. on V2.

The full tour dates are as follows (all December 2008):

2 – Glasgow, SECC
4 – Aberdeen, AECC
6 – Cardiff, International Arena
9 – Liverpool, Echo Arena
10 – Manchester, MEN Arena
12 – Newcastle, Metro Radio Arena
13 – Nottingham, Trent Arena
15 – Birmingham, NIA
16 – Brighton, Brighton Centre
17 – Bournemouth, International Centre
19 – Sheffield, Arena
20 – London, O2 Arena

Tickets go on sale at 9am on Thursday, August 14, and cost £29.50, except London (£32.50).

Entitled Decade In The Sun: The Best Of Stereophonics, this is a timely collection that brings together all the band’s most memorable tracks.

Available as single CD, deluxe double CD (set in hardback book) and DVD, Decade In The Sun spans all six of the band’s studio albums, five of which reached number one in the UK charts.

Kicking off with the 2005 UK no. 1 smash Dakota, the hits come thick and fast in an opening section that includes three top five singles – The Bartender and the Thief, Have A Nice Day and Handbags and Gladrags, as well as great songs from the band’s debut album Word Gets Around – Local Boy in the Photograph and A Thousand Trees.

A Decade In The Sun also features many of Stereophonics’ recent chart successes, such as It Means Nothing (taken from last year’s UK No.1 album, Pull The Pin), Devil and Rewind, both of which appear on the 2005 No. 1 album Language. Sex. Violence. Other?.

The collection ends on a high, pairing 2001 songs Mr Writer and Step On My Old Size Nines, before closing with the 1997 classic Traffic.

The album also features two brand new tracks (You’re My Star and My Own Worst Enemy), of which You’re My Star will be released as a single later this year.

In addition to the 20 tracks featured on the single CD version, the deluxe double CD set includes additional Stereophonics singles, fan favourites and rarities, while the DVD version includes all Stereophonics videos and exclusive bonus footage.