Follow Us on Twitter

Stereophonics - Live From Dakota

Stereophonics, Life From Dakota

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

KELLY Jones says of the new Stereophonics live album, Live From Dakota that it’s about ‘capturing the energy – not note perfect’.

“It’s raw and to the point and I think it captures what our shows are about,” he adds.

Following a memorable 2005, which saw their latest album, Language. Sex. Violence. Other top the charts, the band now deliver a telling reminder of why they are considered to be one of the best live acts on the circuit.

Jones vocals remain as distinctive as ever in front of an audience, while the guitars sound crisp, raw, girtty and contain an unbridled energy that perfectly compliments the band’s ever-growing confidence.

Live From Dakota contains plenty of tracks from the most recent album, as well as some choice selections from the back catalogue.

Fan favourites Traffic, Maybe Tomorrow and the rousing Local Boy In The Photograph therefore nestle alongside the likes of Dakota, Superman and Doorman to showcase just how far the band have developed over the years.

If anything, they seem to be maturing with age, embracing a fuller, meatier sound and really exploding collectively as a live band.

Hence, versions of Superman and Deadhead are delivered with breathless intensity; the guitars wailing out into the Dakota night air and being given plenty of time for solos.

While selections such as Mr Writer get mixed up a little, with the piano segment particularly effective in giving it a real ‘live’ sense of identity.

Maybe Tomorrow, too, is delivered in acoustic fashion, serving as a nice comedown from the excessive highs of the headier rockier moments.

There’s even a new track in the form of the similarly impressive Jayne thrown in just to make the album even more enticing for the die-hard fans among you.

But then this is, of course, an album all about the fans and whether you participated in one of last year’s live shows, or just want a greatest hits collective in live form to remind you of The Stereophonics’ brilliance, then this offers the perfect ticket to happiness.

Watch the Dakota video

Track listing:
Disc: 1

  1. Superman
  2. Doorman
  3. Thousand Trees
  4. Devil
  5. Mr Writer
  6. Pedalpusher
  7. Deadhead
  8. Maybe Tomorrow
  9. Bartender And The Thief
  10. Local Boy In The Photograph

Disc: 2

  1. Hurry Up And Wait
  2. Madame Helga
  3. Vegas Two Times
  4. Carrot Cake And Wine
  5. I’m Alright (You Gotta Go There To Come Back)
  6. Jayne
  7. Too Many Sandwiches
  8. Traffic
  9. Just Looking
  10. Dakota