Follow Us on Twitter

Steve Angello - Sessions (Ministry of Sound)

Steve Angello, Sessions (Ministry of Sound)

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 1 out of 5

STEVE Angello, 23, has become one of the hottest names in dance music following a string of essential productions on labels like Subliminal, Credence and his own Size Records.

He has also provided remixes for the likes of Mylo (In My Arms), Eurythmics (Sweet Dreams Are Made Of This), Moby (Raining Again) and Royksopp (49 Percent).

Here he unites with Ministry of Sound to follow in the critically-acclaimed footsteps of Derrick Carter to deliver another Sessions mix that’s destined to appeal to anyone who enjoys their nightlife in Ibiza style.

The result is a pretty bog-standard collection of electro-heavy club anthems that come at you in relentless style with barely a note to distinguish them from each other.

In amongst the pounding beats are Angello’s own Need Some, a generic slice of super-club nonsense, and Sexy As Fuck’s heavy Who’s Who?.

Most depressing, however, is how Angello takes recognised and quality acts such as Royksopp and Moby and turns them into bog-standard variations of just about everything else on the album.

Royksopp’s What Else Is There? is a massive disappointment which is only vaguely recognisable from the album version (thanks mainly to its distinct, Bjork-like vocals), while Moby’s Dream About Me sounds like a bad version of something Mr Scruff might concoct with a hangover.

Maybe it’s my age, but Steve Angello’s Sessions provided nothing but misery for me.

Track listing:
Disc: 1
1. Say What You Want – Carey, Ian & Mochico/Miss Bunty
2. Same Man – Westwood, Till
3. Kazane – Eshashika, Hiroki
4. Shipment – Colombian Drum Cartel
5. Stoppage Time – Geber, Guy
6. Not So Dirty – Who’s Who
7. Shake It – DJ Rooster & Sammy Peralta
8. Need Some – Angello, Steve
9. For Sale – Buy Now
10. That Sound – Lawler, Steve
11. Chord – Angello, Steve
12. New Jack – MBG & SDS
13. Deep Sleepless Night – Mad 8 & Shawn Christopher

Disc: 2
1. Mandarine Girl – Booka Shade
2. Sexy Fuck – Who’s Who
3. Straight – Angello, Steve
4. What Else Is There – Royksopp
5. Get It On (Summer Love) – Vanelli, Joe T.
6. Alto Voltaje – Ano, David & Julio Navas
7. Do What U Do – Yoshimoto
8. It’s Killing Me – Nick & Danny C
9. Let It Drop – DJ Delicious
10. Dream About Me – Moby
11. Teasing Mr Charlie – Angello, Steve
12. Sky Was Pink – Fake, Nathan