Follow Us on Twitter

Supergrass split after 17 years


Story by Jack Foley

SUPERGRASS have announced they are to split after a career spanning 17-years and six albums.

The Oxford foursome – comprised of lead singer Gaz Coombes, keyboardist Rob Coombes, bassist Mick Quinn and drummer Danny Goffey – are famous for their infectious brand of Britpop and hits such as Alright, Caught By The Fuzz and Richard III.

Before they depart, they intend to play a series of “farewell” gigs in Glasgow, Manchester and London before their final bow in Paris on June 11, 2010.

A statement issued by the band explained: “Thanks to everyone who has supported us over the years. We still love each other but, cliché notwithstanding, musical differences have led to us moving on.”

Supergrass formed in 1993 and released debut album I Should Coco a year later. A decadle later, they celebrated their 10-year anniversary with a Best Of collection called Supergrass Is 10.

Thereafter, however, hits were harder to come by as the music climate changed. Sixth studio album Diamond Hoo Har reached No. 19 in the UK album charts in 2008 and they had spent most of 2009 working on its follow-up – but it is not yet known whether this material will be released.

Most recently, Gaz Coombes and Goffey released a covers album produced by Radiohead collaborator Nigel Godrich with their new project The Hot Rats in January.

The farewell tour dates are (all June 2010):

8 – Glasgow Barrowlands
9 – Manchester Academy
10 – London O2 Academy Brixton

Tickets are £22.50 Regional (£25 London) and go on sale on Friday, April 16 at 9am.