Follow Us on Twitter

The Aliens announce UK tour and new album (2008)

The Aliens

Story by Jack Foley

THE Aliens have announced an eight date tour of the UK in October to support the release of their new album Luna.

Kicking off in Edinburgh, the band will also play a night at London’s Hoxton Bar & Grill before concluding in Newcastle.

Released on their own Pet Rock Records imprint and picking up where their 2007 debut Astronomy For Dogs left off, Luna sees the band continuing to explore the outer limits of sunshine pop, psychedelic rock and acid dipped electronics.

Recorded in a small Scottish village over the first six months of this year, the band have embraced their freedom from the major record label machine, and delivered an album that manages to outshine their widely acclaimed debut.

These Aliens have history – between them they have been behind some of the most enthralling British music of the last decade.

John Maclean and Robin Jones were members of The Beta Band, along with founding member Gordon Anderson who departed after the first EP release and went on to record two albums under the Lone Pigeon moniker.

The three re-united in 2006 and embarked on a new musical adventure as The Aliens releasing the classic singles Robot Man and Happy Song, from Astronomy For Dogs, and touring extensively across the UK and USA throughout 2007.

2007 ended with a cultural exchange trip to the Congo with Africa Express and Damon Albarn, playing with some of the most celebrated musicians in Africa and the West.

The October 2008 tour dates are:

9 – Edinburgh, Liquid Rooms
11 – Manchester Academy 3
12 – Nottingham, Stealth
13 – Bristol, Thekla
14 – London, Hoxton Bar & Grill
16 – Brighton, Digital
17 – Liverpool, Academy 2
18 – Newcastle, Other Rooms

Luna will be released on September 29 on Pet Rock Records and Magic Man will be released on September 19 as 7” and download.