Follow Us on Twitter

The Asteroids Galaxy Tour - Fruit

The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Fruit

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4.5 out of 5

THE Asteroids Galaxy Tour can proudly lay claim to be “Denmark’s finest hipsters”.

Having conquered the iTunes market with their glorious Around The Bend, a track featured on Apple’s iPod Touch campaign, and which is arguably one of the coolest cuts of the past 12 months, they then followed it up with the equally glorious The Sun Ain’t Shining No More.

Now, they drop the LP Fruit and it’s a sweet, sweet listen.

The Asteroid Galaxy Tour – aka aka Mette Lindberg and Lars Iversen – are all about shiny, shimmering, upbeat pop, albeit with a horn-infused, slightly psychadelic edge.

They create the sort of effervescent music that should guide you through a dozen summers, kicking back and chilling out to the feel-good concoctions they deliver. It’s soul nourishingly good stuff.

Take The Sun Ain’t Shining No More as a starting point – it’s a kaleidoscopic monster of a song, all ll blissed out pop perfection that recalls the heady days of summer.

Sung by Mette, it highlights her kooky, utterly unique voice and is enhanced by a driving bass, along with a horn section that pays homage to sixties soul, and features ace trumpet player Miloud Carl Sabri who spent time in Cuba in 1999 playing with the mighty Buena Vista Social Club. If you listen carefully, you may even catch a hint of Smashmouth’s Walkin’ On The Sun, not to mention elements of The Beach Boys and Motown.

Push The Envelope, a crowd favourite, opens with a fanfare of horns and a foot-stompingly cool beat, before continuing the funky strut that Sun Ain’t Shining kicked up, while Satellite utilises a wonky electronic loop and another barnstorming beat to augment Mette’s vocals.

There’s a chilled out form of trip-hop that’s reminiscent of Morcheeba on Crazy, while The Golden Age includes some waltzing piano licks that are designed to splash a smile across your face as you nod your head in effortless appreciation.

Around The Bend needs no introduction and is as cool and refreshing as it was when you first heard it on that advert, while Sunshine Coolin’ is just laidback psychadelic bliss, made for hot days and cool drink sipping.

Indeed, there’s barely a dud on the LP, with the brass heavy Hero and the feisty Bad Fever drawing things to a close in typically stylish fashion to confirm that you now have your first soundtrack to good times and warmer summer weather in 2009.

Download picks: The Sun Ain’t Shining No More, Around The Bend, Satellite, Sunshine Coolin’, Crazy, The Golden Age

Track listing:

  1. Lady Jesus
  2. The Sun Ain’t Shining No More
  3. Push The Envelope
  4. Satellite
  5. Crazy
  6. The Golden Age
  7. Around The Bend
  8. Sunshine Coolin’
  9. Hero
  10. Bad Fever