Follow Us on Twitter

The Bravery - The Bravery

The Bravery

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE New York revival shows no sign of letting up, it seems, if the current crop of new bands is anything to go by.

The Bravery are the latest bright lights to emerge from the Big Apple, combining the post-punk sensibilities of The Strokes and StellaStarr* with the disco-roots of The Rapture.

There’s also elements of the brilliant guitar sound of Modest Mouse as well as the all-round brilliance of The Killers, making this outfit worthy of the hype surrounding them.

The Bravery first started to attract attention following the release of their excellent Unconditional EP last year, before current single, An Honest Mistake, really set tongues wagging.

Both emerge as highlights of the album, combining some killer hooks and expertly crafted guitar riffs with Sam Endicott’s raw vocal style.

Unconditional, especially, could well become a long-term anthem for the band, with its energetic disco beats providing a neat bedding for the guitar loops that run rife throughout.

But there is plenty more to admire, not least in the endearing electronic sound of The Ring Song, during which comparisons with the vocal style of The Strokes is all but guaranteed.

And Swollen Summer, which emerges as a triumphant rock-out that could well serve as one of the signature tunes for the coming months.

The organs feature strongly again on another of the album’s undisputed highlights, Fearless, which is also notable for its deliciously malingering bass-line and another teasing set of vocals from Endicott.

With lyrics such as ‘something wicked this way comes’ and guitar solos that really showcase the band at their breathtaking best, it would be foolish to write this band off as mere copycats.

For while they may clearly be influenced by the distinct post-punk sound that is sweeping New York at the moment, they have enough about them to ensure that when the euphoria dies down, they’ll be among the bands still standing.

We would urge an Unconditional surrender to their many charms..

Track listing:
1. An Honest Mistake
2. No Brakes
3. Fearless
4. Tyrant
5. Give In
6. Swollen Summer
7. Public Service Announcement
8. Out of Line
9. Unconditional
10. The Ring Song
11. Rites of Spring