Follow Us on Twitter

The Coral announce new album Move Through The Dawn and UK tour (2018)

The Coral

Story by Jack Foley

HAVING recently supported Manic Street Preachers on their Arena tour, The Coral have announced a UK headline tour in October following the release of their new album Move Through The Dawn.

The influential Hoylake band’s first headline tour for two years will start in Newcastle and take in London’s Koko before culminating at Manchester Albert Hall on October 13.

Supporting on all dates comes from She Drew The Gun, the acclaimed Liverpool quartet signed to Coral frontman James Skelly’s Skeleton Key label.

Move Through The Dawn will be released on August 17 on Ignition Records on CD, LP and digitally, and is available to pre-order.

The headline tour dates are (all October 2018)

3 – Newcastle, Riverside
5 – Birmingham, O2 Institute 1
6 – Leeds, Beckett Students Union
7 – Sheffield, Leadmill
9 – Bristol, SWX
11 – London, Koko
12 – Liverpool, University The Mountford Hall
13 – Manchester, Albert Hall

Tickets on general sale at 9am on Friday, May 18, with a fan pre-sale from 9am on May 16 – see The Coral’s website for further details.

The Coral will also be appearing at festivals throughout the summer, and will be celebrating the release of Move Through The Dawn by hosting the Skeleton Coast Festival at Leasowe Castle, Wirral, on Saturday September 1.

Joining The Coral, who headline, will be Tim Burgess, Fuzzy Sun – the first signing to Blossoms new label Very Clever – plus Skeleton Key Records artists including The Fernweh, Marvin Powell and Cut Glass Kings.

The first single to be taken from Move Through The Dawn is the BBC 6Music playlisted single Sweet Release – available now to stream, download and as instant grat with album pre-orders

Featuring a synchronized routine by a boiler-suited, paper bag hat-wearing dance troupe, the video for Sweet Release continues The Coral’s tradition for visually exciting and wryly amusing promos.

Move Through The Dawn was recorded at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool and produced by The Coral and Rich Turvey.

Nick Power, The Coral’s keyboardist, has written a new book, Into The Void, which will be published by Ebacc concurrently with the new album. Powers’ third book, Into The Void is an insightful, amusing and evocative first hand account of the recording, release and touring of Distance Inbetween, which came after a five-year hiatus for the band.