Follow Us on Twitter

The Cure to release one single a month ahead of new album (2008)

The Cure, Robert Smith

Story by Jack Foley

THE Cure have announced plans to release four A & B side singles, one each month, starting May 13, 2008, leading up to the release of their 13th studio album, as yet untitled, to be released through Suretone/Geffen Records on September 13.

The new LP will mark the band’s first album of new music since 2004’s self titled album The Cure and physical and digital versions of the singles will be available for purchase in store and on all digital partners.

First single The Only One will be released on May 13 and includes the B-side NY Trip, while the second single Freakshow follows on June 13 with the B-side All Kinds Of Stuff. Neither B-side will appear on the album and both tracks were produced by Robert Smith and Keith Uddin.

The single names for July 13 and August 13 will be announced shortly…

The band is currently gearing up for a US tour, kicking off on May 9 at the Patriot Center in Washington DC. 65daysofstatic will open on all dates.

Led as always by lead singer/guitarist Robert Smith, the Cure line-up comprises longtime members bass player Simon Gallup, drummer Jason Cooper and, back in the band for a third time, guitarist Porl Thompson.

Keep checking back for more Cure news as it happens or head over to the band’s website to hear the new single. It’s happy, melodic and great to have them back and sounding so refreshed (with lines like “I love, I love what you do to my heart…”).