Follow Us on Twitter

The Drums - Summertime EP

The Drums, Summertime EP

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4.5 out of 5

IT MAY be autumn in the UK but The Drums Summertime EP offers that little ray of sunshine these dark, drizzly (ahem, rainswept) days fail to provide.

Originally formed in Florida, The Drums are now based in New York and are currently hard at work on their first album. If it’s anywhere near as good as this mini-LP, it promises to be something special.

Spearheaded by the single Let’s Go Surfing, which drops the most insanely catchy whistle sample this side of Peter, Bjorn and John’s Young Folks, it’s a seven track compendium of Beach Boys inflicted summertime hits that capture the spirit of West Coast America in effortless fashion.

Let’s Go Surfing is the standout track, of course, and begins proceedings. But there isn’t a bad moment.

Make You Mine, with its “oh baby, I don’t know what to do with myself” opening, and insanely infectious guitar jangle and hand-clap beat backdrop, is a fine follow-up, complete with catchy chorus. It’s downbeat lyrically, about a lost love… but you wouldn’t think so, especially when another addictive whistle kicks in.

Don’t Be A Jerk, Johnny, on the other hand, has a Casio-style keyboard to add some kitsch values to its quirky tale. But the summery guitar licks are never far away… and combined with the keyboards add up to a real endearing listen.

Submarine is a fun riot that boasts plenty of energy, Down By The Water showcases a slightly more hazy, sombre side to The Drums that’s equally as addictive, Saddest Summer trades Strokesian riffs with rapid-fire lyrics and super-charged keyboards, and I Felt Stupid rounds off the EP with a mid-tempo mini-classic that even comes over all Cure-like in its guitars.

The Drums have deliberately taken the unlikely template of ’50s surf rock and Factory Records as their inspiration and mixed in some new wave sounds.

They are comprised of singer Jonathan Pierce and guitarist Jacob Graham, who met at summer camp when they were children and have been best friends ever since.

Rounding out The Drums are Connor Hanwich on drums and Adam Kessler on guitar. They’re a genuinely class act.

Download picks: Let’s Go Surfing, Make You Mine, Don’t Be A Jerk, Johnny, Down By The Water

Track listing:

  1. Let’s Go Surfing
  2. Make You Mine
  3. Don’t Be A Jerk Johnny
  4. Submarine
  5. Down By The Water
  6. Saddest Summer
  7. I Felt Stupid