Follow Us on Twitter

The Dykeenies - Nothing Means Everything

The Dykeenies, Nothing Means Everything

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

NOTHING Means Everything, the debut album from Scotland’s The Dykeenies, is a lively, boisterous record that marks a very promising debut.

Recorded at Rockfield Studios with Manic Street Preachers producer Dave Eringa and Dimitri Tikovoi (Placebo, Goldfrapp), it grips from the outset with its sharp hooks, insistent rhythms and direct lyricism.

Standout track New Ideas has already proved a sizeable hit for them and thrives with its duelling jags of staccato guitars and an almighty, heaven-sent chorus that will positively have you chanting along “I’ve got a wealth of new ideas”!

But it’s capably supported by further album highlights such as Clean Up Your Eyes, a mini epic that kicks off with a healthy dose of electronica, before introducing some sparkling guitar hooks.

And Things You Cannot See, a slow-burning, darker effort about warring parents that was part-inspired by lead singer Brian’s own family.

Stitches is another hit-in-waiting that boasts a backdrop of glittery new wave guitars and another commanding set of vocals, while the stop-start riffs that open Symptoms give rise to another edgy favourite.

By the time you reach final song Feels Like Sleep, you ought to have been swayed as the song provides final evidence of a band that’s very much on top of its game – and which shows no sign of any debut nerves.

It’s confident, sometimes heartfelt and capably mixes upbeat indie rock romps with some satisfyingly darker elements.

It should be very interesting to hear where they go from here…

Download picks: New Ideas, Feels Like Sleep, Stitches, Things You Cannot See, Symptoms

Track listing:

  1. Panic
  2. Waiting For Go
  3. Stitches
  4. Clean Up Your Eyes
  5. Pick You Up
  6. New Ideas
  7. In And Out
  8. Things You Cannot See
  9. Symptoms
  10. Lose Ourselves
  11. Feels Like Sleep