Follow Us on Twitter

The Feeling - Twelve Stops And Home

The Feeling, 12 Stops and Home

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE one feeling you’re undoubtedly going to be left with after listening to the debut album from The Feeling is one of joy.

For while Twelve Stops and Home certainly shifts gear on several occasions, there are enough pop gems contained within to leave most listeners smiling.

The band is comprised of Dan Gillespie Sells (vocals and guitar), Richard Jones (bass), Kevin Jeremiah (guitar), Ciaran Jeremiah (keyboards) and Paul Stewart (drums), five lads from Sussex and London who share a combined love for no-nonsense, hook-filled, giant-chorused pop music.

They have already scored two massive hit singles with Sewn, a mid-tempo ballad that continues to sound fresh, and Fill My Little World, a gloriously hook-laden romp of a record that radiates sunshine positivity.

But much of the album’s allure lies in its ability to juggle slower, piano-drenched reflections on life and love with more upbeat celebrations of that most giddy of feelings.

Hence, many of the tracks wear their mid-70s inspirations proudly, flitting casually from the likes of Lennon and McCartney to Queen and Steely Dan via Godley and Creme, The Carpenters and The Beach Boys.

The album kicks off in supremely upbeat fashion with the bundle of energy that is I Want You Now, which contains vocal melodies ripped right out of the Beach Boys’ songbook and plenty of soft-rock power-hooks. It’s almost impossible not to be swept along by its infectious energy.

There’s a shimmering folksy feel to Never Be Lonely, a wonderfully scripted ode to love about people in love “getting everything wrong” – think Supertramp’s Dreamer, only marginally more lovely.

Fill My Little World follows along to provide some welcome familiarity, before Kettle On slows things down completely, dropping some killer piano chords and a low-key beat that eventually gives way to an epic chorus about home comforts.

Indeed, it’s safe to say that The Feeling’s music succeeds by paying tribute to the simple things, the everyday things that we often take for granted. It shines a little light that continues to grow stronger the longer the album lasts.

Further highlights include the breezy Anyone, which is built around more sunshine hooks and another stunning chorus, and the big stadium sounding Love It When You Call, which really does wallow in mid-70s soft rock territory.

Given the current retro revival going on in music – that’s taking in both the 70s and the 80s – it’s refreshing to find a band capable of mixing the nostalgia with something that’s equally fresh and exciting.

The Feeling’s Twelve Stops And Home contains a vibrancy that’s difficult not to get swept up in. It’s an extremely encouraging debut.

Find out more about The Feeling

Listen to our album sampler

Track listing:

  1. I Want You Now
  2. Never Be Lonely
  3. Fill My Little World
  4. Kettle’s On
  5. Sewn
  6. Anyone
  7. Strange
  8. Love It When You Call
  9. Rosé
  10. Same Old Stuff
  11. Helicopter
  12. Blue Piccadilly