Follow Us on Twitter

The Gentlemen - A Candid History of Faith, Hope, Love

The Gentlemen, A Candid History of Faith, Hope, Love

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

SHEFFIELD rockers The Gentlemen have amassed a large and dedicated fan base in the North East where they regularly sell-out venues.

Comprised of guitarist Sean Walsh, brothers Joel and Josh Cana (on drums and bass respectively) and gutsy vocalist Nicholas Noble, the band now deliver their sophomore album A Candid History of Faith, Hope, Love and go some way to explaining their popularity.

The album is full of punchy, energetic guitar anthems that are raw and gritty, as well as melodic and catchy. What’s more, they don’t outstay their welcome.

Tracks such as Ecoutez Moi thrive on the gritty central riff that resonates throughout, as well as melodic vocal layering and a catchy, unfussy chorus that proudly proclaims “it feels so right”.

In contrast, For Better Or For Worse is an urgent, harmony-filled anthem that contains the kind of guitar hooks the Chili Peppers may be proud of, as well as some thrilling riffs.

The cymbals get a thumping on the blistering guitar anthem Something You Can’t Regret, while fan favourite Sending Cards is a catchy, bass-tastic offering that drops another easygoing chorus.

Album opener Push Back! kind of sets the standard early, working well on its mix of vibrant riffs and strong chorus and melody, while the punky, stop-start riffs of Protest Music give rise to a fun lament/rant on the things that annoy the band in their day-to-day (pornography, image-obessed magazines, etc). It has another catchy chorus.

And then Come And Make Me Feel Right strips things back a capella at first, before showcasing the tender side of the band and their songwriting with a haunting acoustic number that shows they can do the more sensitive stuff.

Don’t let the fact that you may never have come across The Gentlemen put you off: this is a very competent second album that deserves to build on their reputation.

Download picks: Push Back!, Protest Music, Sending Cards, For Better Or For Worse, Come And Make Me Feel Right

Track listing:

  1. Push Back
  2. Unique
  3. I’m Not Leaving
  4. Protest Music
  5. Sending Cards
  6. Fairy Tales
  7. Ecoutez Moi
  8. For Better Or For Worse
  9. Come And Make Me Feel Right
  10. Something You Can’t Regret
  11. Done Me Wrong