Follow Us on Twitter

The Ghost - War Kids

The Ghost, War Kids

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE Ghost are two young Danish musicians who have fast become renowned in their native Faroe Islands music scene (they’re comprised of Filip Mortensen (21) on vocals and Urbanus Olsen (22) on electronics).

They first came to Rob da Bank’s attention at The Icelandic Airwaves Festival where their live performance, on-stage charisma, and energy blew him away. It’s easy to see why.

The duo specialise in fusing vintage electro-pop with indie rock and with their summer-friendly album War Kids – their first since signing to Rob da Bank’s Sunday Best label – really do endear themselves.

Everything about the album is coated in a deliciously breezy attitude that makes each and every song joyful in some way.

The mix of guitars and synths is appealing, the Beach Boys friendly harmonies are perfect for hot summer sunshine days, and the vocals are quite simply intoxicating.

The album kicks off in indie rock fashion with the sharp guitar licks of Something New and something of a kick-ass attitude that’s slightly deceptive (but still good). It then drops a disco-infused propulsive electronic beat, a la Royksopp, on Dream of Subak, which properly showcases their ability to fuse indie elements with electro-pop flourishes. It’s catchy as hell.

Thereafter, the album generally impresses… and delivers frequent highlights. City Lights is a real blast of energy that features a great lead vocal and a fine mix of synth rush disco elements, snappy beats and background indie riffs; Fool’s Crown has a nice space-rock vibe that’s reminiscent (instrumentally at least) of The Flaming Lips, while title track War Kids almost has an early James vibe (again, instrumentally) and gives rise to a great chorus.

Love Is Nothing thrives on its appealing mix of flutes and beats, which really make you want to clap and dance along, while Superhero adds a wonky pop element that displays their more kooky tendencies.

One of my personal favourites, Everything Can Explode, then hits another Flaming Lips-style vibe (albeit more breezy), before Bad Things plays things out in similarly upbeat, space-folk-pop fashion.

The Ghost may not be a name that’s rolling off everyone’s lips at the moment, but with Rob da Bank behind them and an album that oozes easygoing charm and genuine quality, it can’t be long before their popularity soars.

Download picks: Dream of Subak, Everything Can Explode, Bad Things, Fool’s Crown, City Lights

Track listing:

  1. Something New
  2. Dream of Subak
  3. Blood of Romance
  4. City Lights
  5. Fool’s Crown
  6. War Kids
  7. Love Is Nothing
  8. Superhero
  9. Everything Can Explode
  10. Bad Things