Follow Us on Twitter

The Killers - Live From The Royal Albert Hall

The Killers: Live From The Albert Hall

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

ANYONE who still has reservations about the merits of The Killers should listen/watch Live From The Royal Albert Hall.

This DVD/CD release proves pretty conclusively that they’re a good band and great showmen. It also reminds you of just how many hits they’ve had.

Featuring an expansive set list of 17 songs, the concert was one to cherish for fans, as well as a good greatest hits compilation for those who didn’t get to see the real deal live.

In live form, The Killers are every bit as epic and accomplished as they are on record form – the transition from studio to live environment is seamless.

Frontman Brandon Flowers is a charismatic frontman, while the band are musically tight and expansive depending on the needs of the song.

Crowd-pleasers such as Mr Brightside, Human and Smile Like You Mean It sit comfortably alongside album tracks and the odd cover, such as Joy Division’s Shadowplay and fan favourite Sweet Talk (from the 2007 collection of rareities, Sawdust).

The Killers chose to film at the Royal Albert Hall after falling in love with the venue when they played an exclusive launch show for their million-selling (UK) third album, Day & Age last November.

As a result, the brilliant acoustics enhance the overall sound of these recordings, whether watching or listening.. reliving the moment or catching up. What’s more, it lasts for an epic 80 minutes!

Highlights include the crowd-rousing opener Human, delivered with the expected gusto, the Joy Division cover version, Somebody Told Me, an acoustic version of Sam’s Town, the rapturously received clap-along that is Mr Brightside and the epic All These Things That I’ve Done.

On the DVD, Killers fans will also love the behind-the-scenes documentary, which is worth watching, and bonus festival footage from Oxegen, V and Hyde Park that also serves as a reminder of just how busy and in-demand these Las Vegas boys are.

You can’t help but feel that this is the first of many live CD/DVD releases from a career that promises to run and run.

Download picks: Human, Somebody Told Me, Mr BrightsideAll These Things That I’ve Done, Shadowplay, When You Were Young, Smile Like You Mean It

Track listing:
Disc: 1 (DVD)

  1. Enterlude
  2. Human
  3. This Is Your Life
  4. Somebody Told Me
  5. For Reasons Unknown
  6. The World We Live In
  7. Joy Ride
  8. I Can’t Stay
  9. Bling (Confession Of A King)
  10. Shadowplay
  11. Smile Like You Mean It
  12. Losing Touch
  13. Spaceman
  14. A Dustland Fairytale
  15. Sam’s Town
  16. Read My Mind
  17. Mr. Brightside
  18. All These Things I’ve Done
  19. Sweet Talk
  20. This River Is Wild
  21. Bones
  22. Jenny Was A Friend Of Mine
  23. When You Were Young
  24. Exitlude
  25. Behind-The-Scenes Documentary
  26. Behind-The-Scenes Documentary
  27. Behind-The-Scenes Documentary
  28. Behind-The-Scenes Documentary
  29. Behind-The-Scenes Documentary
  30. Tranquilize – Oxegen Festival
  31. Human – Hyde Park
  32. Mr. Brightside – Hyde Park
  33. Smile Like You Mean It – V Festival
  34. When You Were Young – V Festival

Disc: 2 (CD)

  1. Human
  2. This Is Your Life
  3. Somebody Told Me
  4. The World We Live In
  5. I Can’t Stay
  6. Bling (Confession Of A King)
  7. Shadowplay
  8. Smile Like You Mean It
  9. Losing Touch
  10. Spaceman
  11. A Dustland Fairytale
  12. Sam’s Town (Acoustic)
  13. Read My Mind
  14. Mr. Brightside
  15. All These Things That I’ve Done
  16. Jenny Was A Friend Of Mine
  17. When You Were Young

  1. Yayyy got my copy 2day – went to this gig their the best band eveerrr! met them in feb + they were lovely :) xx

    Rachel    Nov 9    #