Follow Us on Twitter

The King Blues - Save The World, Get The Girl

The King Blues, Save The World, Get The Girl

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE King Blues’ swaggering second album is an interesting creation. The London band’s attitude is instantly appealing with melodic and uplifting choruses, while the combination of their pop-rock sound and the part-sung/part-spoken, hip-hop-esque vocal is greatly entertaining.

Their songs have a very folky vibe, with elements of Bob Dylan and Plan B in the urgent, reflective lyrics. This band have a great, adaptable sound that focuses on the darker side of life without sounding depressing.

Underneath This Lamppost Light is a ballad, of sorts, with a light-hearted ambience and a string accompaniment that highlights Jonny ‘Itch’ Fox’s vocal ability and writing flair (“so kiss me underneath this lamppost light, I know it smells of piss but you look beautiful tonight..”).

“I still can’t believe The Terminator is the governor…” is a line from the song Save The World, Get The Girl, which is a vibrant pop song filled with humorous quips. It also serves as a socio-political statement as much as a well accomplished demonstration of the band’s song-writing ability.

The set of songs is well produced and has a noticeable smoothness, offering a nice contrast to the rougher themes touched upon.

Fortunately, The King Blues appear to be growing in fame and this album will certainly aid their ascension.

Similar in sound to bands like Hard-Fi and Madness, their dancing tunes carry the strength of the vocals well.

The overall highlight, however, is a six-and-a-half minute rant at the end of the album in the form of What If Punk Never Happened. Based around a spoken vocal, it turns into a quality, bottomless rapped story that barely pauses for breath.

The King Blues have made an album that stands out as a suitably timed shout about all that’s wrong, which still manages to be tirelessly enjoyable.

Definitely an act to keep an eye on in the future, The King Blues don’t look like stopping their charge towards mainstream recognition any time soon.

Download Picks: My Boulder; I Got Love; The Schemers, The Scroungers and the Rats; Underneath the Lamppost Light; Save the World, Get The Girl; Let’s Hang The Landlord; What If Punk Never Happened

Track Listing:

  1. My Boulder
  2. I Got Love
  3. The Schemers, The Scroungers and the Rats
  4. Underneath the Lamppost Light
  5. Save the World, Get the Girl
  6. For You My Darling
  7. The Streets Are Ours
  8. Let’s Hang The Landlord
  9. Out Of Luck
  10. Hold On Tight
  11. What If Punk Never Happened