Follow Us on Twitter

The Music of Glee: Season 4 Volume 1 - Review

Glee The Music: Season 4 Volume 1

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE Glee juggernaut rolls on with yet another selection of songs from the fourth season of the hit series.

And while new additions have joined the cast and the show continues to experience highs and lows in quality, the music remains as enjoyable to listen to as ever… well, almost!

This particular CD has the dubious distinction of including global chart hit Gangnam Style among its line-up and not even the combined voices of Jenna Ushkowitz, Blake Renner and Becca Tobin came make this song sound good. It remains one of the most wretched songs you’re ever likely to hear (mind-numbingly irritating) and beyond any kind of make-over redemption.

Elsewhere, though, there are rousing renditions of other popular favourites and even some interesting new interpretations of classic standards – as only Glee know how.

Highlights include a belting version of fun’s Some Nights, a cheesy version of Holding Out For A Hero, a poppy cover of One Direction’s Live While We’re Young (which, admittedly, was always tailor-made for a Glee do-over) and a happy-clappy version of Imagine Dragons’ It’s Time as delivered with typical aplomb by Darren Criss.

More interesting is Melissa Benoist and Lea Michele’s stripped back, piano-based version of Billy Joel’s New York State of Mind, an acoustic makeover of Taylor Swift’s Mine by Naya Rivera, a brooding take on Coldplay classic The Scientist which gradually draws in a number of cast members, and a stripped down, acoustic take on David Bowe’s iconic Heroes by Darren Criss and Chord Overstreet that is beautifully delivered.

All told, there’s not really much to dislike whether you’re a continued fan of the show or not. And that really is the magic of Glee in musical form – it’s ability to transcend the show and offer a really good listen on its own merits.

Download picks: Some Nights, Heroes, Mine, It’s Time, Everybody Talks

Track listing:

  1. It’s Time
  2. New York State of Mind
  3. Give Your Heart A Break
  4. Mine
  5. The Scientist
  6. Everybody Talks
  7. My Dark Side
  8. Holding Out For A Hero
  9. Heroes
  10. Some Nights
  11. Homeward Boud/Home
  12. Live While We’re Young
  13. Gangnam Style

  1. Live while we’re young

    Carolyn Benjamin    Mar 4    #