Follow Us on Twitter

The Orwells announce UK tour (2017)

The Orwells

Story by Jack Foley

THE Orwells have announced a full UK tour in support of their third studio album, Terrible Human Beings, which is due for release on February 17, 2017.

The tour kicks off in Glasgow on March 1, 2017, taking in Birmingham, Brighton, Bristol, Manchester and rounding off at London’s Scala on March 7.

Tickets will be available via pre-sale on December 5, and will be on general sale on Friday, December 9 via their website

They have also unveiled a third track from the album, Double Feature. The album’s closer – and perhaps the band’s most experimental and groove-oriented song – Double Feature breaks down into a slow instrumental build that features jagged guitar lines, pulsing bass, and guttural howls before erupting into a climactic wall of noise.

The UK tour dates are (all March 2017)

1 – Glasgow, Stereo
2 – Birmingham, Hare & Hound
3 – Brighton, Haunt
4 – Bristol, Thekla
5 – Manchester, Gorilla
7 – London, Scala

Recorded over the course of a month at Chicago’s Electrical Audio, Terrible Human Beings was produced by Jim Abbiss (Artic Monkeys, Adele), with whom The Orwells had worked on a couple of Disgraceland’s best tunes.

Of the recording process, guitarist Matt O’Keefe said: “The Pixies were an obsession when we were writing this album. I think that’s where a lot of trying to make the songs and the guitar parts very simple was coming from, because the Pixies are kings of that. We’ve always been a simple band, but this time it was about trying to keep everything straightforward, nothing flashy.”