Follow Us on Twitter

The Shins announce new album Heartworms and 2017 live dates

The Shins

Story by Jack Foley

FOLLOWING their warmly received Halloween gift to fans in the form of Dead Alive, The Shins have announced the release of their fifth studio album, Heartworms.

The album will be released on March 10, 2017, via Aural Apothecary/Columbia Records.

In contrast to 2012’s Port of Morrow, which debuted at No.3 on the Billboard Top 200 and was nominated for a Best Alternative Album GRAMMY, Heartworms ushers in a return to the hand-made.

Heartworms is, as always, entirely written by James Mercer. However, with the exception of So Now What (produced by Richard Swift), Heartworms is the first Shins album to be self-produced by Mercer since Oh, Inverted World in 2001.

The record will be supported by a world tour, on which Mercer will be joined by Yuuki Matthews (bass), Jon Sortland (drums), Mark Watrous (guitar, keys, vocals), Casey Foubert (guitar) and Patti King (keys).

Tickets for the UK leg of the tour go on sale on Friday, January 13 at 10am. Additional tour dates will also be announced in the coming weeks.

The 2017 tour dates so far (all March and June 2017)

2 – Albuquerque, NM – El Rey Theatre
4 – Pomona, CA – Fox Theater
6 – San Diego,CA – Observatory North Park
7 – San Diego, CA – Observatory North Park
28 – Paris, FR – Le Trianon
29 – London, UK – Eventim Apollo Hammersmith
30 – Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso

15 – Brooklyn, NY – Prospect Park Bandshell