Follow Us on Twitter

The Webb Sisters - Daylight Crossing

The Webb Sisters, Daylight Crossing

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

THE Webb Sisters are Charley, 27, and Hattie, 24, and they appear to have been destined for a career in music.

Charley began studying the piano at six, Hattie the harp from eight. By the time they were teenagers, the pair were giving recitals around the country, appearing at parties and posh functions, often earning up to £600 a gig.

At such events, they’d play jazz, classical and folk music, as well as requests for The Carpenters. They have played twice for Princess Anne and once for The Queen.

Little wonder, then, that by the time they left education they were highly sought after.

Among those to pick up on their talents was producer Johnny Pierce, who invited them to Nashville to write and record what would become their debut album, Piece of Mind.

That was six years ago and they subsequently spent six months in the US home of country music, relishing and learning a lot from their first experience in the studio.

From there, they gravitated towards California where they started to play live in and around LA.

They were soon spotted and landed a publishing deal, followed by a record deal that led to the creation of Daylight Crossing, upon which they collaborated with musicians such as Mike Elizondo (Eminem, Fiona Apple) and Jeff Trott (Sheryl Crow and Aimee Mann).

Two years later, the sisters returned to the UK when they came to the attention of Mercury Records and it was here that they recorded their debut album. Production came from two more musical heavyweights – Steve Lipson (Sting, Annie Lennox) and Youth (The Verve, Dido).

The result is this West Coast-flavoured album that should appeal to fans of everyone from The Corrs and Dido to Sheryl Crow and Fleetwood Mac.

The latter’s influence is particularly evident during tracks like I Still Hear It, a breezy blend of folk guitars and tingling piano that builds towards a typically sweeping chorus.

While their country upbringing is evident on efforts like Still The Only One, which is built around strong vocal melodies and more upbeat guitar licks.

Vocally, the sisters are particularly strong, sitting comfortably alongside established artists such as Dido, Stevie Nicks and even Karen Carpenter. They trade well off each other but frequently come together for the album’s big choruses.

Musically, too, they go back to their roots by including both piano and harp on several occasions, as well as the more familiar guitars of late.

The result is an album that emerges as a pleasant surprise – one that wears its influences on its sleeve (both personal and professional) but which provides a capable showcase for the Webb Sisters as talented performers in their own right.

Further tracks to look out for include Please, Everything Changes (the emotional final track) and the beautifully upbeat Tomorrow Now – the type of track that could easily grace an episode of US medical drama, Grey’s Anatomy or The OC courtesy of its catchy ‘do, do, do’ interludes.

Track listing:

  1. Blue
  2. I Still Hear It
  3. Still The Only One
  4. Torches
  5. Please
  6. Turn The Lights On
  7. Tomorrow Now
  8. Ferris Wheel
  9. Boomerang
  10. Momentary
  11. My Way To You
  12. Everything Changes

  1. Good

    Mandy Dodd    Jul 1    #