Follow Us on Twitter

Thomas Bromley - Two-Nine-Five

Thomas Bromley

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

THOMAS Bromley’s album Two-Nine-Five has been some time in coming but now that it’s arrived it serves notice of a very interesting new musical talent.

The 22-year-old music graduate not only wrote all ten tracks on the album but performed the vocals, guitar, piano and percussion.

The result is an effort that encompasses a multitude of styles, from funk and soul to stirring ballads constructed around strong melodies.

It’s a worthy tribute to Bromley’s persistence, perseverence and talent that he has emerged as one of the UK’s most promising talents.

He performed his first pub gig at 14 and dedicated himself to forging a career in the music industry, earning a distinction in music at West Kent College.

Terry Scully, of 4Real Records, then caught one of Bromley’s live shows and was immediately impressed with his stage presence – ‘armed with only an acoustic guitar he really made people stand up and take notice’.

Wasting no time, he quickly signed Bromley to a two-album deal and continued to support the creation of this first record.

The result is a record that contains the same sort of emotional intensity as David Gray, which ought to appeal to followers of James Blunt, The Counting Crows and even Paul Weller (such is the scope of his musical ambition and influence).

Kicking off with the sweeping Danger Ahead, a former single, the album quickly showcases Bromley’s ability to deliver catchy hooks and melodies, while showcasing his slightly husky vocal style.

It’s an uplifting track that sits well alongside similarly funky efforts such as Mark My Words and the folksy Bye The Way, with its rousing chorus and sharp hooks.

In contrast, there’s the haunting Saine to draw the album to a close with its tender piano chords and melancholy style (about a beguiling woman who stole his heart and fled away), and the emotive Daisy, which takes a painful look at another failed relationship (‘Daisy, Daisy what’s your game, you try to hurt yourself again’).

Throughout, Bromley’s powerful vocals flit between aching regret and uplifting hopefulness, depending on the style of the track, while his music is both thoughtful, well-constructed and dripping in the emotion that’s born out in the lyrics.

It’s an album that’s certain to win Bromley a great many admirers.

Track listing:

  1. Danger Ahead
  2. Out There
  3. Bye The Way
  4. Standing Strong
  5. Mark My Words
  6. Home
  7. Comfort Zone
  8. Daisy
  9. All The Things We Need
  10. Saine