Follow Us on Twitter

Thunderheist - Thunderheist

Thunderheist LP

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

THUNDERHEIST are a Canadian duo whose indie-electro-pop album has some refreshing aspects. Mixing Grahm Zilla’s sweet, synthy electronics with the raucous vocals of MC Isis has combined in a feel-good set of songs, brimming in self-confidence.

Having been formed after Grahm accidentally sent an mp3 of his work to MC Isis, who subsequently recorded a rap over the top, the band have already received a degree of success. Their song Jerk It from this album was played in the smash film The Wrestler and they have featured several times on Radio 1.

The songs have a very similar vibe throughout the album. The beats are quite generic and don’t tend to vary too much, while the vocals hold the same spunky enthusiasm across light-hearted themes.

There is definitely an element of humour in MC Isis’ lyrics, which don’t vary far beyond the theme of dancing. Bubblegum is a typical example of the pop vibe the band can create.

Peaches’ basic music production and fun lyrics or Outkast’s bizarre musical style could be put forward for comparison to Thunderheist, though the band are tough to pigeonhole. The band are confident with their music and don’t tend to vary it too much.

Jerk It is a great song, an energetic and vibrant mix that could be heard in a club near you sometime soon. The churning synth sounds and the out of tune mechanical bursts pair up to lend a darker tone to a well made rant of a pop song.

The band have a good cohesion, and their songs are, generally, well put together and worth a listen. At times, however, the lyrics can become too immature and take a lot away from the music, which is disappointing.

There are a couple of songs that are good, like Sweet 16, Jerk It and Do The Right Thing, but most of the others fall behind.

The album has 13 tracks, which seems very unnecessary as the quality isn’t there throughout. Thunderheist are ambitious and deserve their popularity for the handful of tracks that are good, but overall, I think fans will be disappointed with this endeavour.

Download picks: Sweet 16, Jerk It, Do The Right Thing, Cruise Low

Track Listing:

  1. Sweet 16
  2. Nothing 2 Step 2
  3. Jerk It
  4. LBG (Little Big Girl)
  5. Bubblegum
  6. Slow Roll
  7. Space Cowboy
  8. The Party After
  9. Freddie
  10. Do The Right Thing
  11. Red Whine
  12. Cruise Low
  13. Anthem