Follow Us on Twitter

Thursday - Common Existence

Thursday, Common Existence

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

THURSDAY are often hailed as groundbreaking post-hardcore pioneers and they return with new album Common Existence. But while there are some moments of note, it’s nothing to write home about.

The emphasis is on epic songwriting, with almighty guitar riffs, post-hardcore wailing, brooding atmospherics and, well, creating noise.

The latter part of the album is better than the first half, with tracks like Love Has Led Us Astray and the emphatic You Were The Cancer ushering the long-player to a pretty decent finale.

But the quality isn’t always maintained and the start is shaky at best. Opener Resuscitation Of A Dead Man, with its themes of mortality, and raging guitars and screamed vocals, is in no way a pioneering effort. It’s actually pretty generic for the hardcore scene, albeit with some busier guitar loops.

The head-banging Last Call isn’t much better, while the distortion drenched As He Climbed The Dark Mountain is only notable for slipping in some slide guitar to an otherwise overbearing listen that contains about 10 wails too many.

Thursday singer Geoff Rickly states in the album PR: “The record is called Common Existence, and I think that this record in a lot of ways is the first time that I‘ve looked at a lot of the same things… all the big life events that happen from a more adult perspective.”

It’s ironic, then, that the majority of the songs are delivered in such juvenile, head-banging fashion. While the common in the title serves as a useful metaphor for the totally generic nature of this heavy rocker.

Hell, there’s even the obligatory nod to ongoing war campaigns with Friends In The Armed Forces, which just about every band is doing at the moment, while Unintended Long Term Effects is just an aggressive rocker.

The indie influence also cited in the PR is evident on tracks such as the more mellow Time’s Arrow, while Beyond The Invisible Spectrum weaves in some decent electronica.

But such moments weren’t enough to save the album from underwhelming.

Download picks: Time’s Arrow, You Were The Cancer, Love Has Led Us Astray

Track listing:

  1. Resuscitation of a Dead Man
  2. Last Call
  3. As He Climbed The Dark Mountain
  4. Friends In The Armed Forces
  5. Beyond the Visible Spectrum
  6. Time’s Arrow
  7. Unintended Long Term Effects
  8. Circuits of Fever
  9. Subway Funeral
  10. Love Has Led Us Astray
  11. You Were The Cancer