Follow Us on Twitter

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen OST - Review

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen OST

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

A BIG film demands a big soundtrack. But while Michael Bay’s action extravaganza Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen has managed to attract some suitably super-sized bands, it’s as hit-and-miss as the film itself.

The bands are very American. They’re very loud. But unfortunately, there are times when they all sound the same.

The OST is spearheaded by Linkin Park, of course, who wrote the new song New Divide especially for the movie [having contributed to the original Transformers], while the likes of Green Day, Nickelback, The Fray, The All-American Rejects and Staind also crop up.

But the result is a very one-note album of any a few genuine highs. If you’re into the American rock scene, you’ll probably salivate at the line-up and selection. But those seeking diversity (surely, the want of any good soundtrack?) may be dismayed at the lack of variety.

That said, the album begins in spectacular fashion. Linkin Park’s thrilling and mighty New Divide is tailor-made for the Transformers sound and is a thrilling piece of songwriting, while Green Day’s 21 Guns (from their 21st Century Breakdown album) is similarly towering and anthemic.

But the rot begins to set in with Cavo’s Let It Go, a song that sounds so Nickelback that Nickelback ought to be singing it. Nickelback’s own Burn It To The Ground rocks hard and heavy, but is pretty non-descript, while Staind’s This Is It is pretty pedestrian American rock… as is Hoobastank’s I Don’t Think I Love You, which sounds like its copying Linkin Park without as much success. We won’t even mention The Used’s wretched cover version of Burning Down The House!

The usually reliable All-American Rejects do at least break up the monotony of the heavy rock sound with their spritely, synth-charged Real World (althouh it’s far from their best work), and The Fray sound very Fray-like with their power-ballad, Never Say Never. They’re another American band that could do with freshening up their sound.

Avenged Sevenfold as are as heavy and borderline metallic as you’d expect – the guitars veering from Goth-rock to wail-like, along with the vocals – and Cheap Trick wind the LP up with Transformers: The Fallen Remix, which does at least sound cinematic and worthy of a place on the soundtrack. But it’s also way to juvenile, with a jubilant chorus declaring “Transformers, robots in disguise” and reminding you of all that was bad about the original TV programme’s theme song.

So, having started so song, this OST feels as heavy-going and marathon-like as Michael Bay’s film itself. A perfect accompaniment then… but not in a good way.

Download picks: New Divide, 21 Guns, Real World

Track listing:

  1. Linkin Park – New Divide
  2. Green Day – 21 Guns
  3. Cavo – Let It Go
  4. Taking Back Sunday – Capital M-E
  5. The Fray – Never Say Never
  6. Nickelback – Burn It To The Ground
  7. The Used – Burning Down The House
  8. Theory Of A Deadman – Not Meant To Be
  9. The All-American Rejects – Real World
  10. Hoobastank – Don’t Think I Love
  11. Staind – This Is It
  12. Avenged Sevenfold – Almost Easy
  13. Cheap Trick – Transformers™ The Fallen Remix