Follow Us on Twitter

Treetop Flyers - The Mountain Moves (Review)

Treetop Flyers, Mountain Moves

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THEY may hail from London but Treetop Flyers take their cues from the likes of The Band, Neil Young, Fleetwood Mac and Little Feat. And it’s fair to say that debut album The Mountain Moves sits comfortably alongside the work of most of those artists.

A collection of country-soul and rock tracks, this is a great listen for anyone who thinks they don’t necessarily cut records like they used to.

Recorded in Malibu’s Zuma Sound, the studio originally built for Rick Rubin, the album gets off to a flyer and seldom looks back.

Things Will Change has some driving riffs and classic melodies to fuel it, emerging as the type of summer anthem that’s tailor-made for listening to on a coastal highway drive. Reid Morrison and Sam Beer share vocal duties, while the combined guitars of Morrison, Beer and Laurie Sherman make for a really classic sound that’s great.

Every track resonates in some way, whether lyrically, thematically or instrumentally (often all three), with Waiting On You, in particular, slowing the tempo and coming over all Northern Soul for one of the most poignant songs on the LP, a tribute to Reid’s late father.

But they do ballads just as well as rock numbers, with Rose Is In The Yard emerging as another favourite… a bluesy, romantic ode to a girl named Rose that has a yearning country-rock chorus (“come on, will you dance with me”).

She’s Gotta Run has a classic Fleetwood Mac vibe attached and a great chorus (coupled with classic riff-making), Haunted House comes over all bluesy and should appeal easily to lovers of Kings of Leon, and Postcards channels the spirit of Stax complete with doo-wop shuffle and funky vibe.

Picture Show, meanwhile, is another of the driving rock anthems they do so well, Storm Will Pass layers in the country and folk elements and Is It All Worth It rounds things off in achingly simple fashion for a disarming and thought-provoking conclusion.

Put together, this is a really strong debut that in channelling the greats becomes great in its own way too.

Download picks: Things Will Change, Rose Is In The Yard, Waiting on You, Haunted House, Postcards, She’s Gotta Run, Is It All Worth It

Track listing:

  1. Things Will Change
  2. Houses Are Burning
  3. Waiting On You
  4. Rose Is In The Yard
  5. She’s Gotta Run
  6. Haunted House
  7. Postcards
  8. Making Time
  9. Picture Show
  10. Storm Will Pass
  11. Is It All Worth It