Follow Us on Twitter

Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross announce Girl With The Dragon Tattoo OST release details

Trent Reznor, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Story by Jack Foley

NINE Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross have announced the release of their soundtrack to David Fincher’s adaptation of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo on Mute.

This marks the second time Reznor and Ross have teamed up with Fincher (having previously collaborated on their Academy Award winning score for Fincher’s box office hit The Social Network).

Reznor states: “For the last 14 months Atticus and I have been hard at work on David Fincher’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers.

“The result is a sprawling 3-hour opus that I am happy to announce is available for pre-order right now. The full release will be available this week – December 9.

“You have two options right now:

Visit iTunes where you can immediately download Karen O’s and our version of Led Zeppelin’s Immigrant Song when you pre-order the soundtrack.

“You will also be able to exclusively watch the legendary 8-minute trailer you may have heard about (no purchase necessary obviously). We scored this trailer separately from the film, BTW.


“Visit our store. We’re offering a variety of purchasing options including multiple format high-quality digital files, CDs and a really nice limited edition deluxe package containing vinyl and a flash drive.

In addition, RIGHT NOW you can download a six-track, 35 minute sampler with no purchase necessary.”

Opening in UK cinemas on December 26, one of 2011’s most hotly anticipated films, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is adapted from Stieg Larsson’s best-selling book, and stars Rooney Mara as the tattooed protagonist alongside lead actor Daniel Craig.

The album will be available as two physical formats; a 3x CD digipak and a Deluxe Limited Edition metal signed and numbered box version which will include 6 vinyl discs, exclusive artwork and a special razor blade-shaped USB drive (inspired by Lisbeth’s razor blade necklace) containing the full album in high-fidelity 96k audio.

The album will also be available as a digital download, including a high quality audio FLAC or Apple Lossless version.

Reznor describes his and Atticus Ross’s eagerly awaited soundtrack as being “all based on performance, nothing programmed, with a really interesting, organic, layered feel – something we’ve never done before.”

Album Track listing

  1. Immigrant Song – KAREN O with Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
  2. She Reminds Me Of You
  3. People Lie All The Time
  4. Pinned And Mounted
  5. Perihelion
  6. What If We Could?
  7. With The Flies
  8. Hidden In Snow
  9. A Thousand Details
  10. One Particular Moment
  11. I Can’t Take It Anymore
  12. How Brittle The Bones
  13. Please Take Your Hand Away
  14. Cut Into Pieces
  15. The Splinter
  16. An Itch
  17. Hypomania
  18. Under The Midnight Sun
  19. Aphelion
  20. You’re Here
  21. The Same As The Others
  22. A Pause For Reflection
  23. While Waiting
  24. The Seconds Drag
  25. Later Into The Night
  26. Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome
  27. Another Way Of Caring
  28. A Viable Construct
  29. Revealed In The Thaw
  30. Millennia
  31. We Could Wait Forever
  32. Oraculum
  33. Great Bird Of Prey
  34. The Heretics
  35. A Pair Of Doves
  36. Infiltrator
  37. The Sound Of Forgetting
  38. Of Secrets
  39. Is Your Love Strong Enough? – How To Destroy Angels