Follow Us on Twitter

Triniti - Triniti


Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

FROM the moment you look at the album cover and then read that Trinití are three young Irish girls, you’re automatically inclined to think: “Aah, the new Corrs.”

They’re not quite that easy to categorise. In PR terms, they’ve variously been dubbed “the sound of 21st century new age folk”, as well as “Enya meets the Sugababes”, while their music is credited with providing “cinematic soundscapes for movies as yet unmade”.

The comparisons with Enya are certainly not wide of the mark, given the ethereal nature of many of the tracks, while many of the classic Irish melodies certainly hint at The Corrs. So perhaps a more apt description should be “Enya meets The Corrs”.

No matter, Trinití are Laura, Sharon and Eve. They don’t use surnames, they sing in their bare feet and they are, undoubtedly, vocally distinctive. Whether it’s producing enchanting cover versions of old standards such as Scarborough Fair (dreamy, almost hauntingly surreal), or Voices (rousing and, dare I say, sing-along), they are always easy on the ear.

In efforts such as Brighid’s Kiss, they even hint at the cinematic sweep of Clannad (especially tracks like Harry’s Game), albeit with an Eastern flavour. No surprise, then, that Clannad’s own In A Lifetime crops up, delivered in the form of a duet with another renowned Irish singer, Iarla à Lionird.

Not everything works as well as it might, though. While tracks like Voices and Now We Are Free provide genuinely pleasant surprises, they’re take on Sting’s seminal Fields of Gold feels a little lightweight. Built around an acoustic guitar backing, it’s nowhere near as beguiling as the original and their voices, dare I say, sound quite ordinary.

Slower, more pensive numbers such as Nocturne and Glen of Imaal, while beautifully delivered, also could do with an injection of pace.

Much better is their Irish take on Seal’s Kiss From A Rose, which has been re-imagined more successfully, or the moody, cinematic scope of their version of the aforementioned Now We Are Free – especially when reaching its distinct finale.

As an introduction Trinití, the self-titled album, is a mostly pleasing affair. It’ll undoubtedly appeal to women more than men but it’s soothing, occasionally inspiring and defined by a very distinct set of voices. Expect it to sell by the bucketload, while serving as a suitable springboard for these three girls to become major household names in the future.

Track listing:

  1. Rose on Water
  2. Voices
  3. Scarborough Fair
  4. The Water Is Wide
  5. In A Lifetime
  6. Brighid’s Kiss
  7. Falling
  8. Fields of Gold
  9. What You Do
  10. Nocturne
  11. Glen of Imaal
  12. Kiss From A Rose
  13. Now We Are Free

  1. I liked this album - very soothing and relaxing. Look forward to hearing more of their work.

    debs    Jul 5    #