Follow Us on Twitter

U2 - The Joshua Tree: Re-mastered

U2, The Joshua Tree: Deluxe Edition

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 5 out of 5

U2’s The Joshua Tree is one of the seminal albums of all time. Boasting timeless hits such as Where The Streets Have No Name, With Or Without You and I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, it’s widely considered to be the album that put Bono, The Edge and co on the musical map.

Now, to mark 20 years since its release, the album has been meticulously remastered from the original analogue master tapes so that it sounds better than ever.

“There has been continuous demand from U2 fans to have The Joshua Tree properly re-mastered,” explained Paul McGuinness. “As always, the band had to make sure it was right, and now it is.”

Hence, U2 devotees will have the chance to hear all their favourite songs in crystal clear sound once again, while newcomers can fully appreciate why U2 are rightly considered to be one of the best and most enduring bands of all time.

What’s more, it shows how they have progressed musically since that time on a journey that has seen them embrace music trends and continually strive to be at the cutting edge.

And yet like all the best artists, songs such as With Or Without You and those oh-so distinct guitar riffs of I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For retain a sense of timelessness that never wears thin. It’s why such tracks continue to be requested on radio stations and consistently make their way into all-time best of lists.

Upon its initial release in 1987, The Joshua Tree reached No 1 around the world and won a Grammy for Album of the Year, while U2 themselves won the Brit Award for Best International Act and Time Magazine put the band on its cover, proclaiming them Rock’s Hottest Ticket. It subsequently went on to sell in excess of 20 million copies.

And yet for all its hits, there are still some classic cuts to be found elsewhere on the long-player, such as the fantastically atmospheric Bullet The Blue Sky, with its enraged guitars, and the slightly more tender In God’s Country.

Running To Stand Still and Trip Through Your Wires are two further classics that are well worth hearing if you don’t already own the album (or have only held out for U2’s Greatest Hits packages).

To celebrate this 20th anniversary release, The Joshua Tree is available in four formats: a standard CD featuring liner notes from Bill Flanagan, lyrics and unseen photographs from long time collaborator Anton Corbijn (director of the award-winning Joy Division film Control); a double 12” gatefold vinyl format, with the original album pressed across two 180 gram audiophile discs; a deluxe edition including a second CD of B-sides and demos from the original album sessions, and a limited edition box set containing two CDs and a DVD featuring The Joshua Tree Tour live from the Hippodrome in Paris and other rare video footage.

So, take your pick, kick back and relive some special musical memories…

Download picks: Where The Streets Have No Name, I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, With Or Without You, Bullet The Blue Sky, In God’s Country

Track listing:

  1. Where The Streets Have No Name
  2. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
  3. With Or Without You
  4. Bullet The Blue Sky
  5. Running To Stand Still
  6. Red Hill Mining Town
  7. In God’s Country
  8. Trip Through Your Wires
  9. One Tree Hill
  10. Exit
  11. Mothers Of The Disappeared