Follow Us on Twitter

U2 - War, Boy and October remastered

U2, War

Review by Jack Foley

FOLLOWING the success of the re-mastered release of The Joshua Tree last year (2007), The Edge has overseen a similar re-mastering of U2’s early LPs Boy (1980), October (1981) and War (1983), all of which have been re-mastered from the original audio tapes.

The Deluxe versions include a standard CD and a bonus CD. The bonus CD – which is the most worthwhile version – includes B-sides, live tracks and rarities. They also include a 32-page booklet with previously unseen photos, full lyrics, new liner notes by Niall Stokes, and explanatory notes on the bonus material by The Edge.

Of the trio of releases, 1983’s War is likely to be the most popular, featuring as it does seminal hits Sunday Bloody Sunday and New Year’s Day, as well as solid album tracks Red Light and Seconds.

Some of the songs do sound dated, unlike some of the band’s material once they’d properly established themselves, but purists will want to grab the restored versions to revisit past glories and complete the U2 picture on CD. And the Deluxe editions are certainly worth owning.

On War, for instance, the previously unreleased Angels Too Tied To The Ground is a collector’s piece, while remixes of New Year’s Day (especially by Ferry Corsten) offer worthwhole re-interpretations.
While on Boy, a previously unreleased mix of I Will Follow succeeds in giving it extra zip, Speed Of Life emerges as an undiscovered gem, and there’s a killer live version of Boy-Girl to look out for, recorded at The Marquee.

The stories behind the songs, and some of the bonus selections, are also well-realised in the 32-page booklet, which really is a must-have for any die-hard U2 follower.

There are similar highlights to be plucked from the Deluxe October package, with BBC Sessions of Scarlet and With A Shout among the obvious picks, as well as a Common Ground remix of Tomorrow.

In all, then, everything a U2 purist could want and more…

Deluxe version track listings for albums

U2, Boy

Disc 1:

  1. I Will Follow
  2. Twilight
  3. An Cat Dubh
  4. Into The Heart
  5. Out Of Control
  6. Stories For Boys
  7. Ocean
  8. Day Without Me
  9. Another Time Another Place
  10. Electric Co.
  11. Shadows And Tall Trees

Disc 2:

  1. I Will Follow [previously unreleased mix]
  2. 11 O’clock Tick Tock
  3. Touch
  4. Speed Of Life
  5. Saturday Night
  6. Things To Make And Do
  7. Out Of Control [single version]
  8. Boy/Girl
  9. Stories For Boys [single version]
  10. Another Day
  11. Twilight [single version]
  12. Boy/Girl [live at the Marquee, London]
  13. 11 O’clock Tick Tock [live at the Marquee, London]
  14. Cartoon World [live at the National Stadium, Dublin]

U2, October

Disc 1:

  1. Gloria
  2. I Fall Down
  3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
  4. Rejoice
  5. Fire
  6. Tomorrow
  7. October
  8. With A Shout (Jerusalem)
  9. Stranger In A Strange Land
  10. Scarlet
  11. Is That All

Disc 2:

  1. Gloria [live Hammersmith Palais December 1982]
  2. I Fall Down [live Hammersmith Palais December 1982]
  3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window [live Hammersmith Palais December 1982]
  4. Fire [live Hammersmith Palais December 1982]
  5. October [live Hammersmith Palais December 1982]
  6. With A Shout (Jerusalem) [Richard Skinner BBC session September 1981]
  7. Scarlet [Richard Skinner BBC session September 1981]
  8. I Threw A Brick Through A Window [Richard Skinner BBC session September 1981]
  9. Celebration
  10. J Swallow
  11. Trash Trampoline And The Party Girl
  12. I Will Follow [live Paradise Theatre March 1981]
  13. Ocean [live Paradise Theatre March 1981]
  14. Cry/The Electric Co [live Paradise Theatre March 1981]
  15. 11 O’Clock Tick Tock [live at the Marquee club]
  16. I Will Follow [live from Hatten May 1982]
  17. Tomorrow [Common Ground remix 1996] – Bono & Adam Clayton

U2, War

Disc 1

  1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  2. Seconds
  3. New Year’s Day [single edit]
  4. Like A Song
  5. Drowning Man
  6. Refugee
  7. Two Hearts Beat As One
  8. Red Light
  9. Surrender
  10. 40

Disc 2

  1. Endless Deep
  2. Angels Too Tied To The Ground
  3. New Year’s Day [single edit]
  4. New Year’s Day [USA remix/Kevorkian remix]
  5. New Year’s Day [vocal extended mix/Ferry Corsten remix]
  6. New Year’s Day [Ferry Corsten vocal radio mix]
  7. Two Hearts Beat As One [Kevorkian long mix]
  8. Two Hearts Beat As One [Kevorkian USA remix]
  9. Two Hearts Beat As One [club version/Steve Lillywhite remix]
  10. Treasure (Whatever Happened To Pete The Chop)
  11. I Threw A Brick Through A Window/A Day Without Me [live from Werchter, Belgium July 1982]
  12. Fire [live from Werchter, Belgium July 1982]