Follow Us on Twitter

Universal Music and Clash Music combine for Introducing LP


Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

UNIVERSAL Music Strategic Marketing has announced an exciting new partnership with Clash Music to help promote their new digital compilation Introducing, which seeks to raise the profile of emerging talent across its labels.

Clash Music will be heavily promoting the album across their website and magazine over the coming weeks and are in discussions with UMSM about working together on future releases.

As Clash Music’s Adam Foster explained: “Clash Music are very excited to be working with UMSM and the INTRODUCING brand – it’s a great album and fits our readership perfectly. We’re looking forward to building an ongoing relationship with the brand and bringing great music to our readers”

Hence, the first Introducing is a digital only series containing a mix of brand new talent and more established young artists.

The first album, released March 14, will feature breaking artists Clare Maguire, James Blake, Mona, The Pierces, Tinashe, Alice Gold, The Bees, Yuck & alongside rising stars White Lies, Jamie Woon, Jessie J and The Naked & Famous.

Our verdict:

Hats off to Universal Music and Clash Music for finding new ways of promoting emerging artists. The digital Introducing is a good package and one that signals the arrival of some interesting new acts.

Of course, as with any compilation album not everything works but of the 13 tracks we now have our eye on at least half!

Jamie Woon’s Night Air is a great way to kick things off thanks to some atmospheric, cinematic synth arrangements, a sparse set of central vocals, finger click beats and some haunted background harmonies. It grabs your attention from the outset.

The Naked & Famous, meanwhile, underline their “big new thing” tag with the rousing electro-rocker Punching In A Dream, which trades terrific female vocals with foot-stomping beats, a catchy chorus and a sense of euphoria that’s reminiscent of Oracular Spectacular era MGMT.

Clare Maguire needs no introduction thanks to her striking vocals… and she is on fine form on the feisty Ain’t Nobody, while James Blake continues the soulful vibe – albeit in more melancholy fashion – on the sparse piano ballad Limit To Your Love. He has a strong presence.

Mona and The Pierces add some gritty rock riffs to the package, with the latter’s Love You More a real fire-cracker of a record. The striking central riff is a real head-turner, while the female vocals are raw and vibrant in a PJ Harvey kind of way.

Elsewhere, Tinashe’s ethereal synth-pop Mayday is worth checking out, The Bees continue to impress with their effortlessly cool (and retro leaning) Winter Rose, Yuck serve up a ’90s Brit-pop leaning slice of breeziness with Georgia and Jessie J rounds things off with her sassy mix of rock and R’n‘B that is Do It Like A Dude. She’s already been earmarked as a near-certain breakthrough act for 2011… and this track provides plenty of evidence of why – it boasts genuine crossover appeal.

Download picks: Punching In A Dream, Night Air, Love You More, Mayday, Winter Rose, Georgia, Do It Like A Dude

Tracklisting and weblinks to find out more
Jamie Woon – Night Air
The Naked & Famous – Punching In A Dream
Clare Maguire – Ain’t Nobody
James Blake – Limit To Your Love
Mona – Listen To Your Love
The Pierces – Love You More
White Lies – Bigger Than Us
Tinashe – Mayday
Alice Gold – Orbiter
The Bees – Winter Rose
Yuck – Georgia
Alex Clare – Up All Night
Jessie J – Do It Like A Dude