Follow Us on Twitter

Unreleased Jimi Hendrix tracks on new Valleys of Neptune LP

Jimi Hendrix

Story by Jack Foley

A NEWLY curated album of 12 stunning studio recordings from Jimi Hendrix is being released in March 2010, featuring more than 60 minutes of music never commercially available on a Hendrix album.

Valleys of Neptune is being launched by Experience Hendrix LLC and Sony Commercial Music Group on Monday, March 8, 2010.

Centered around tracks recorded during a pivotal and turbulent four-month period in 1969, Valleys of Neptune unveils the original Jimi Hendrix Experience’s final studio recordings.

Here the group lays down the foundation for its follow-up to Electric Ladyland, alongside the guitar superhero’s first sessions with bassist Billy Cox, an old army buddy he’d recruited into his new ensemble.

Valleys of Neptune provides an essential, compelling, and largely unseen view of what Jimi Hendrix was up to musically in the critical period between the release of Electric Ladyland in October 1968 and the 1970 opening of his own Electric Lady Studios in Greenwich Village.

The state-of-the-art facility is also where he would begin his final project, the ambitious double album First Rays of the New Rising Sun.

Janie Hendrix, CEO of Experience Hendrix LLC, the Hendrix family-owned company entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix, noted: “My brother Jimi was at home in the studio. Valleys of Neptune offers deep insight into his mastery of the recording process and demonstrates the fact that he was as unparalleled a recording innovator as he was a guitarist. His brilliance shines through on every one of these precious tracks.”

Valleys of Neptune is produced by Janie Hendrix, John McDermott (who contributes detailed liner notes to the album) and Eddie Kramer.

Other highlights on Valleys of Neptune include blazing studio covers of Elmore James’ classic Bleeding Heart and Cream’s Sunshine of Your Love, as well as premier performances of original Hendrix compositions like Ships Passing Through The Night, Lullaby For The Summer and the original recording of the Jimi Hendrix Experience rendition of Hear My Train A Comin’.

Also included is Mr. Bad Luck, a Jimi Hendrix Experience track, produced by Chas Chandler during the 1967 Axis: Bold as Love sessions.

As part of the opening wave of releases for the Jimi Hendrix Catalogue Project, Sony Commercial Group will also be releasing new deluxe CD/DVD editions of Are You Experienced?, Axis: Bold As Love, Electric Ladyland and First Rays of the New Rising Sun, also available on vinyl, on March 8.

Valleys of Neptune track listing and details):

  1. Stone Free
  2. Valleys Of Neptune
  3. Bleeding Heart *
  4. Hear My Train A Comin’
  5. Mr. Bad Luck
  6. Sunshine Of Your Love **
  7. Lover Man
  8. Ships Passing Through The Night
  9. Fire
  10. Red House
  11. Lullaby For The Summer
  12. Crying Blue Rain