Follow Us on Twitter

Van Morrison announces Roll With The Punches LP and UK tour (2017)

Van Morrisson, Roll With The Punches

Story by Jack Foley

VAN Morrison will release a new 15-track album on September 22, 2017 – and will embark on a new UK tour to celebrate.

Roll With The Punches – Van Morrison’s 37th studio album – sees him simultaneously hand-picking a selection of rhythm and blues classics (by the likes of Bo Diddley, Mose Allison, Sister Rosetta Tharpe and Lightnin’ Hopkins among others) and recording a set of new self-written songs.

It’s an album that features raw, intimate interpretations of some of the cornerstones of rock’n’roll alongside five new numbers by one of our most consistently brilliant recording artists.

Roll With The Punches was produced by Van Morrison and recorded with an incredible team of studio collaborators including Chris Farlowe, Georgie Fame, Jeff Beck, Paul Jones and Jason Rebello.

Van commented: “From a very early age, I connected with the blues. The thing about the blues is you don’t dissect it – you just do it. I’ve never over-analysed what I do; I just do it. Music has to be about just doing it and that’s the way the blues works – it’s an attitude.

“I was lucky to have met people who were the real thing – people like John Lee Hooker, Jimmy Witherspoon, Bo Diddley, Little Walter & Mose Allison. I got to hang out with them and absorb what they did. They were people with no ego whatsoever and they helped me learn a lot.”

To celebrate the new LP, Morrison has also announced a full set of UK tour dates in November and December.

The dates are (all November & December 2017)…

6 – Edinburgh Playhouse
7 – Glasgow Royal Court
12 – London Eventim Apollo
13 – Birmingham Symphony Hall
15 – Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
20 – Cardiff St. David’s Hall
21 – Bristol Colston Hall
24 – Torquay Princess Theatre
25 – Plymouth Pavilions

4 – Belfast Europa Hotel
5 – Belfast Europa Hotel