Follow Us on Twitter

VETO - Crushing Digits

Veto, Crushing Digits

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

VETO are a Danish five-piece and Crushing Digits is their debut UK album release. Combining electronic and prog-rock sounds, their music has an interesting and complex feel.

Built To Fail is the second track on the album and has all the qualities of a break-through track. A pumping beat, superb vocals and fantastic chorus makes this song the best on the album. The song moves into a Klaxons’ style chanting that builds for a climactic finish with great lyrics.

The aggressive vocals in Shake create a harder edge to VETO’s music, using more elaborate rhythms, the band also show off their musical ability. The mix of synth with drums, bass and guitar gives VETO an electronic sound that they handle well.

VETO’s ability to vary musical style is commendable; being, essentially, a rock band and having covered Soulwax live, is an example of their versatility.

While some songs on the album have a great, energetic feel and are very well-constructed, there are some tracks that fail to reach that level. The combination of electronic sounds can sometimes become too much and the song’s direction gets lost.

You Can’t Afford It is another song with a strong punch behind it. It’s packed with energy but ultimately, it stands out as one of the few good songs on the album.

On the whole, thought, the band’s music becomes repetitive in many areas and not enough of the songs demand a second listen.

VETO have done well with a couple of tracks on Crushing Digits, but overall, the album lacks depth and, overall, fails to impress.

Download picks: Built To Fail, You Can’t Afford It

Track Listing:

  1. Blackout
  2. Built To Fail
  3. Shake
  4. You Say Yes, I Say Yes
  5. Crooks
  6. Digits
  7. Unite
  8. You Can’t Afford It
  9. Spit It Out
  10. Duck, Hush And Be Still