Follow Us on Twitter

We The Kings - We The Kings

We The Kings

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

WE’RE told that We The Kings’ eponymous debut album was “rapturously received” in the States, where its loud, brash college-style frat-rock is a pretty established sound.

Hailing from Bradenton, Florida, they have been embraced for singing passionately about their hometown as well as the ties that exist between them as a band.

As if to emphasise this fact, there’s even mention that We The Kings have been asked to throw out the first pitch at a Tampa Rays baseball game, while the mayor of Bradenton is poised to give them the keys to the city.

With this in mind, I was expecting something really rather special from the album. Alas, it’s actually quite formulaic in a been-there, heard it all before kind of way.

The songs are delivered with polish and gusto, Travis Clark sings his lungs out and the guitars are meaty without being offensive, but they belong to the same genre of songwriting as countless US acts, from Blink 182 to Cute Is What We Aim For.

The lyricism, too, is relentlessly upbeat and prone to one too many “whoa” moments.

Taken in small doses, songs like Secret Valentine, Check Yes Juliet (a personal fave) and Don’t Speak Liar (slower, and more brooding) offer a pleasant break from some of the more angular guitar riffs of UK bands.

But as a whole, the album flatters to deceive. It’s formulaic and really nothing out of the ordinary.

Download picks: Secret Valentine, Don’t Speak Liar, Check Yes Juliet, Headlines Read Out…

Track listing:

  1. Secret Valentine
  2. Skyway Avenue
  3. Check Yes Juliet
  4. Stay Young
  5. Whoa
  6. August Is Over
  7. Quiet
  8. Don’t Speak Liar
  9. Headlines Read Out…
  10. All Again For You
  11. This Is Our Town