Follow Us on Twitter

Weezer to release Red Album earlier than planned


Story by Jack Foley

WEEZER have pulled forward the release date of their new long-player, which for the third time in the band’s six-album history will be titled simply Weezer to June 9 (digital) and June 16 (physical).

The standard version of Weezer (also known as The Red Album) features two UK-only bonus tracks: covers of Talk Talk’s Life’s What You Make It and The Weight by The Band.

The Red Album is also the first Weezer long-player to feature all four members contributing songwriting credits and singing lead vocals.

Automatic is written and sung by drummer Pat Wilson, while guitarist Brian Bell delivers Thought I Knew. Meanwhile, bassist Scott Shriner co-wrote Cold Dark World with Rivers.

In addition, The Red Album also marks a high point in the band’s 14-year evolution, and the moment where the band realises its power pop dream.

The Jacknife Lee-produced lead single, Pork and Beans, is released on June 23 and arrives on a wave of frontman Rivers Cuomo’s passive-aggressive power-chord power-play. The song set the internet ablaze when it leaked in early April and is already being regarded as a masterpiece by fans and the internet mafia.

It’s joined on the album by nine other songs, including the epic slacker-cum-prog rock of The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn), arguably the most ambitious Weezer song ever committed to tape.

The full track listing is…

  1. Troublemaker
  2. The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)
  3. Pork and Beans
  4. Heart Songs
  5. Everybody Get Dangerous
  6. Dreamin’
  7. Thought I Knew
  8. Cold Dark World
  9. Automatic
  10. The Angel and the One
  11. The Weight (UK Bonus Track)
  12. Life Is What You Make It (UK Bonus Track)