Follow Us on Twitter

Diana Rigg and Mackenzie Crook among 14 new Game of Thrones cast members

Diana Rigg

Story by Jack Foley

DIANA Rigg and Mackenzie Crook are among 14 new cast members going into the third season of HBO’s Game of Thrones.

The new additions were officially unveiled at San Diego Comic-Con during the show’s panel on Friday.

Rigg, 73, is by far the most notable of the newbies. Best known for her work as Emma Peel on iconic ’60s TV series The Avengers, she will play Olenna Tyrell, aka ‘The Queen of Thorns’, in the forthcoming series.

Introducing her, writer George R.R. Martin said: “Diana Rigg as The Queen of Thorns… I flash back to my youth and all of my days watching The Avengers.”

In the books, Olenna is the grandmother of Margaery and Loras Tyrell.

The casting completes a busy period of time for Rigg, who was also recently announced as a guest star in the new series of Doctor Who with her daughter, Rachael Stirling.

Mackenzie Crook, meanwhile, will play wildling raider Orell. The actor is previously best known for the British version of The Office and The Pirates of the Carribean movies.

As previously announced, former Coronation Street star Clive Russell will play Bryndon The Blackfish Tully, Catelyn Stark’s uncle who is estranged from his brother, Lord Hoster Tully.

Hollyoaks actress Nathalie Emannuel will play child slave Missandei, who works as a translator for Kraznys in Astapor, and Kerry Ingram joins as Stannis Baratheon’s only child, Shireen.

Tara Fitzgerald has been signed up to play her reclusive mother, Selyse, and Paul Kaye has landed the role of Thoros of Myr, a member of the outlaw band known as the Brotherhood Without Banners.

Richard Dormer will play another member of Brotherhood Without Banners, Beric Dondarrion, Thomas Brodie-Sangster will play a friend to Bran Stark, Jojen Reed, and Ellie Kendirck will play his sister Meera, oldest daughter of Stark loyalist Howland Reed.

The final cast members are rounded out by Kristofer Hivju as Tormund Giantsbane, a wildling warrior and chief lieutenant of the “King Beyond the Wall,” Mance Rayder; Philip McGinley (Anguy); Tobias Menzies (Catelyn’s brother Edmure Tully), and Anton Lesser (defunct maester Qyburn).

Next story: Teen Wolf renewed for third season