Follow Us on Twitter

Emmy Awards 2010 - winners and losers

The Pacific

Story by Lizzie Guilfoyle

THE 2010 Emmy Awards proved disappointing for British contenders – among them Dame Judi Dench, Dame Maggie Smith, Sir Ian McKellen, Michael Sheen, Peter Morgan, Jonathan Pryce, Hugh Laurie, Sir Patrick Stewart and Sir Michael Gambon – who failed to convert their nominations to wins.

However, all was not lost. London-born actress Archie Panjabi (East is East and Bend it Like Beckham) picked up Best Supporting Actress for her role in the The Good Wife, while Julia Ormond won Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for her role in Temple Grandin, the biopic based on the life of the gifted, autistic animal sciences expert.

Temple Grandin was named Outstanding Made For Television Movie.

Among the big winners was the hit US series Mad Men which took the coveted Outstanding Drama Award. The show’s creator Matthew Weiner told the audience at the 62nd Emmy Awards in Los Angeles: “I knew one day I would run somewhere and win a trophy.”

Outstanding Lead Actor and Actress in a Drama Series went to Bryan Cranston for Breaking Bad and Kyra Sedgwick for The Closer; while their counterparts in a comedy series were Jim Parsons (The Big Bang Theory) and Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie).

Outstanding Comedy was awarded to Modern Family.

It was Al Pacino who put pay to Michael Sheen and Ian McKellen’s chances of success in the Outstanding Lead Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie category with his portrayal of an advocate of doctor-assisted suicide in You Don’t Know Jack; while Judi Dench and Maggie Smith lost out to Claire Danes, who won the female equivalent for her performance as an autistic cattle handler in Temple Grandin.

However, Outstanding Miniseries went to The Pacific.

And actor George Clooney took home the Bob Hope Humanitarian Award for his work to raise awareness of the crisis in Darfur, and his fund-raising efforts for causes such as Hurricane Katrina, the Haiti earthquake and the victims of the September 11, 2001 attacks on New York and Washington DC.

The winners in full