Follow Us on Twitter

Game of Thrones: Season 7 to air in summer 2017 with seven episodes

Game of Thrones

Story by Jack Foley

THE seventh season of Game of Thrones is to air in the summer of 2017 instead of its usual March/April time frame.

What’s more, the next series will only consist of seven episodes – reduced from its current 10.

The details of the anticipated season were released by HBO on Monday and comes just days after the fantasy saga scored 23 Emmy nominations. However, the summer premiere means that the show won’t be eligible for the 2017 Emmys.

HBO programming president Casey Bloys said in a statement: “Now that winter has arrived on Game of Thrones, executive producers David Benioff and D.B. Weiss felt that the storylines of the next season would be better served by starting production a little later than usual, when the weather is changing.

“Instead of the show’s traditional spring debut, we’re moving the debut to summer to accommodate the shooting schedule.”

HBO also confirmed directors for season seven include Mark Mylod, Jeremy Podeswa, Matt Shakman and Alan Taylor.

While production will begin this summer and will be based in Northern Ireland, while other locations set to be featured next season include Spain and Iceland.

As yet, an episode count for season eight has yet to be determined as the official renewal has not yet been announced – although that is expected to be a formality, especially now the show is definitely entering its end game.

Next story: Poldark to get third series