Follow Us on Twitter

Mad Men and Glee lead US Directors' Guild nominations

Mad Men, Season 2

Story by Jack Foley

MAD Men, Glee and Curb Your Enthusiasm lead the nominations for the Directors’ Guild of America TV awards (2010).

Awards magnet Mad Men emerged as the most nominated programme with three nods in the drama series category.

Show creator Matthew Weiner was shortlisted for the season three finale, Shut The Door. Have A Seat, while Jennifer Getzinger was nominated for The Gypsy and the Hobo episode and Lesli Linka Glatter for Guy Walks Into An Advertising Agency.

Paris Barclay, a winner in 1998 for NYPD Blue, was also nominated in the drama category for In Treatment episode Gina: Week 4.

While resident Lost director Jack Bender was nominated for the show’s fifth-season finale, The Incident.

Barclay, meanwhile, also finds himself nominated a second time in the comedy category, for the Wheels episode of Glee. The show’s co-creator Ryan Murphy is also nominated for the pilot episode.

Curb Your Enthusiasm, meanwhile, scored a double with nods for regular Larry Charles (The Table Read episode) and Jeff Schaffer (seventh season finale Seinfeld).

Jason Winer completes the comedy shortlist for the pilot episode of Modern Family.

The long-form category, meanwhile, will be competed by Bob Balaban for Georgia O’Keeffe, Thomas Carter for Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story, John Kent Harrison for The Corageous Heart of Irena Sendler, Ross Katz for Taking Chance and Michael Sucsy for Grey Gardens (which was screened as part of Channel 4’s Christmas Day line-up).

The DGA TV winners will be announced at the 62nd annual DGA Awards dinner on January 30.