Follow Us on Twitter

Casting announced for Afterglow at Southwark Playhouse

Jesse Fox who plays Darius

Casting news

FINAL casting and the creative team have been announced for the UK premiere of Afterglow, which runs at Southwark Playhouse from Wednesday, June 5 to Saturday, July 20, 2019.

The cast features Jesse Fox as Darius, Sean Hart as Josh and Danny Mahoney as Alex.

Josh and Alex, a married couple in an open relationship, invite Darius to share their bed for one night. When a new intimate connection begins to form, all three men must come head to head with one another’s notions of love, intimacy, and commitment.

Jesse Fox (pictured top) is an actor, director and co-founder of Engineer Theatre Collective. His theatre credits include Hard Feelings (Finborough Theatre) and Missing (New Diorama). He has also appeared on TV in Foyle’s War, Midsomer Murders and Doctors. Last year, his solo-show This Restless State (produced by Fuel) ran at Ovalhouse before touring nationally.

His work with Engineer has been twice Offie nominated for Best Director as well as featred in The New Yorker. Other collaborations include Complicite Creative Learning and regular directing work with the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama.

Sean Hart’s theatre credits include Coriolanus, Titus Andronicus, Anthony and Cleopatra (Royal Shakespeare Company); Mary Queen of Scots Got Her Head Chopped Off (King’s Head Theatre); Heather Gardner (Birmingham Rep); Endless Poem (High Tide) and Hamlet (Young Vic). His screen work includes The Good Liar, Pride and Dimensions.

Danny Mahoney who plays Alex

Danny Mahoney’s (pictured right) theatre credits include Henry Griffith/Lead Puppeteer in White Fang (Park Theatre); U/S Nick in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Sonia Freidman Productions); U/S Trip Wyeth in Other Desert Cities (The Old Vic); Teddy in Black Tie (Vienna’s English Theatre); Marine 1 in Fallujah (Cockpit Theatre) and Rodolpho in A View From The Bridge (Broadway Studio Theatre).

Directed by Tom O’Brien, Afterglow has set and costume design by Libby Todd, lighting design by David Howe, sound design by David Gregory and movement direction by Lee Crowley. Casting director is Anne Vosser.

NB: Afterglow contains strong language and nudity.

Read more about Afterglow.