Follow Us on Twitter

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels extends run at the Savoy

Theatre news

THE critically acclaimed UK premiere of Jerry Mitchell’s Dirty Rotten Scoundrels has extended its run at The Savoy Theatre – until March 7, 2015.

Robert Lindsay, Rufus Hound and Katherine Kingsley will continue as Lawrence Jameson, Freddy Benson and Christine Colgate respectively throughout this new booking period.

Sir Howard Panter, ATG’s Joint CEO and Creative Director said:

“We are thrilled with the audience and critical reaction to Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. Night after night packed houses raise the roof with laughter and leap to their feet with applause for this new musical comedy. We have found the perfect home for this production in the lavish Savoy Theatre, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels has truly become the night out for theatregoers.”

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is based on the 1988 film starring Michael Caine and Steve Martin, directed by Frank Oz.

In this new musical comedy production, which has been reconceived and reimagined for the UK stage, audiences will be transported to the French Riviera, where the decadent world of sophisticated conman Lawrence Jameson is set to come crashing down with the arrival of larger-than-life Freddy Benson – a conman of an entirely different order.

Soon realising the town ain’t big enough for the both of them, the two find themselves going head to head in the con of their lives, pulling out all of the stops in a bid for the affections of millionaire soap heiress Christine Colgate. Little do they know what they’ve let themselves in for….

The cast also includes Samantha Bond as Muriel Eubanks, a glamorous divorcee looking for love on the French Riviera, and John Marquez as Andre Thibault, Beaumont-sur-Mer’s Chief of Police.

Completing the cast are Lizzy Connolly (as Jolene), Gavin Alex, Darren Bennett, Niamh Bracken, Lisa Bridge, Darren Carnall, Andy Conaghan, Phoebe Coupe, Claire Doyle, Alice Fearn, Selina Hamilton, Ian Knauer, Lisa Mathieson, Zak Nemorin, Genevieve Nicole, Javier Santos, Todd Talbot, Dominic Tribuzio, Jon Tsouras and Zara Warren.

Read more about Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.