Follow Us on Twitter

Mister Holgado - Unicorn Theatre

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

MISTER Holgado, by children’s author and playwright Christopher William Hill, runs at the Unicorn Theatre from March 28 (previews from March 24) to April 28, 2013.

Described as a deliciously dark and gruesomely funny new play, following in the tradition of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket, Mister Holgado is set in the fictional town of Schwartzgarten and is about a little boy, his over anxious parents and a tiger named Sigmund.

When Conrad tells his parents there is a tiger living in his wardrobe with a penchant for champagne truffles, his parents don’t believe him. His father, a respected child-psychologist, even sees this lie as a deliberate act of juvenile defiance.

However, when his parents welcome the mysterious stranger Mister Holgado into their home, Conrad worries he is more of a threat than any tiger could be. But parents always know best, don’t they?

The cast comprises Sandy Grierson as Doctor/Mister Holgado, Daniel Naddafy as Conrad and Cath Whitefield as Mother.

Mister Holgado is directed by award-winning Matthew Lenton, Artistic Director of Vanishing Point, a company he founded in 1999. He previously directed The Legend of Captain Crow’s Teeth at the Unicorn. His credits elsewhere include Wonderland, Interiors, Saturday Night, The Beggar’s Opera and Little Otik.

Christopher William Hill’s writing credits include Osbert the Avenger from his series of books Tales from Schwartzgarten. His theatre credits include Exotic Tastes (Arcola Theatre); Heartbreak Beautiful and Multiplex (National Theatre Connections); Inglorious Technicolour (Stephen Joseph Theatre); Song of the Western Men (Minerva Theatre Chichester); and Blood Red, Saffron Yellow (Plymouth Theatre Royal).

Hill has also written several plays for BBC Radio 4, including Marmalade for Comrade Philby (starring Bill Nighy), Says it on the Tin (six part series); and Killing Maestros (also starring Bill Nighy), which won the BAFTA for Best Radio Play.

Mister Holgado has set, costume and lighting design by Kai Fischer and sound and composition by Mark Melville.

Tickets: Adults £16; Concessions £13; Under 21s £10; Previews – all tickets £10; Relaxed performances – all tickets £8; Groups of 10+ – Every eleventh ticket free; Disabled customers may bring 1 free carer. Available from the box office on 020 7645 0560 or online at www.unicorntheatre.com/.

Also at the Unicorn Theatre: Liar, Liar and 1001 Nights.