Follow Us on Twitter

National Theatre - July 2014 to January 2015

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

THE NATIONAL Theatre has announced its programme for the coming months and it includes David Hare’s Behind the Beautiful Forevers; John, a new verbatim dance-theatre work by Lloyd Newson; Tena Štivičić’s 3 Winters; and Bryony Lavery’s adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island.

And in late September, the award-winning New York production of David Byrne and Fatboy Slim’s musical Here Lies Love will open the new Dorfman Theatre (formerly the Cottesloe), following its complete refurbishment as part of the NT Future project.

The Public Theater’s production of Here Lies Love, which premiered in New York in 2013 to critical and popular acclaim, traces the astonishing journey of Imelda Marcos, First Lady of the Philippines, from her meteoric rise to power to her descent into infamy and disgrace.

The new Dorfman Theatre is transformed into a pulsating club for an immersive theatrical event which combines heart-pounding beats with adrenaline-fuelled choreography and 360-degree staging.

Audiences are advised to dress comfortably and those in the pit performance area will stand and dance with the actors. There will be seating in the galleries; the performance length is 90 minutes. In addition to places bookable in advance, 20 tickets at £20 in the pit will be made available every Friday at 12 midday for the week ahead for every performance, bookable online.

With concept and lyrics by David Byrne, music by David Byrne and Fatboy Slim, and additional music by Tom Gandey and J Pardo, Here Lies Love is directed by Alex Timbers, with choreography by Annie-B Parson, set design by David Korins, costume design by Clint Ramos, lighting by Justin Townsend, sound by M. L. Dogg and Cody Spencer, and projection design by Peter Nigrini.

The music supervisor is Kimberly Grigsby; Justin Levine is the collaborating music producer, and the music editor is Matt Stine.

The cast includes Christine Allado, Gia Macuja Atchison, Mark Bautista (as Ferdinand Marcos), Lauren Chia, Christopher Chung, Julius Ebreo, Jim Andrew Ferrer, Li-Tong Hsu, Dean John-Wilson (Ninoy Aquino), Maria Lawson, Kok-Hwa Lie, Frances Mayli McCann, Natalie Mendoza (Imelda Marcos), Aaron Jan Mercado, Martin Sarreal, Julie Yammanee and Sunny Yeo.

David Byrne is a founding member of the band Talking Heads and creator of the record label Luaka Pop. His works include Playing the Building, an interactive sound installation at the Battery Maritime Building, New York and the Roundhouse in London; contributions to the score of The Last Emperor, for which he won an Oscar; Everything That Happens Will Happen Today, a collaboration with Brian Eno; This Must be the Place, a collaboration with Will Oldham for the soundtrack to the Sean Penn film; and Love This Giant, his collaboration with musician St. Vincent.

David Byrne’s books include Bicycle Diaries and How Music Works; he also publishes and exhibits visual art, including photography and filmmaking.

Fatboy Slim, also known as Norman Cook, is a Grammy Award-winning DJ, musician and record producer. He first rose to prominence in the 1980s as bassist of the indie rock band The Housemartins, and went on to form the band, Beats International. In 1996, as Fatboy Slim, he released Better Living Through Chemistry, and his follow-up successes include You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby and Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars. In 2008, he collaborated with David Byrne and Dizzee Rascal on The Brighton Port Authority.

Alex Timbers’ credits include Rocky, Peter and the Starcatcher (co-director, Obie Award Best Director, Tony nomination Best Director), Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson (also book writer; Drama Desk Award Best Book, Tony nomination Best Book), and The Pee-wee Herman Show on Broadway. He is the Artistic Director of the company Les Freres Corbusier.

Here Lies Love is presented by special arrangement with Joey Parnes and EMURSIVE.

Here Lies Love runs from October 13 (previews from September 30) until January 8, 2015.