Follow Us on Twitter

Occupied - Theatre503

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

Theatre503 and Hurlyburly Theatre Company are presenting the premiere of a new play exploring the Romanian experience in the UK. Written by award-winning Carla Grauls, Occupied runs at the Battersea venue from Tuesday, April 1 to Saturday, April 26, 2014.

We are making little territories in your country, a hostile take over of your garden sheds, your abandoned houses and your toilets! The occupation has begun!

In what is described as a darkly comic play two Romanian immigrants, driven by a desire for belonging, kidnap an Englishman to learn how to be English. Inspired by Carla Grauls’ own cultural exchange trip to Romania, Occupied has received support from Romanian Cultural Centre in the UK.

Exploring identity in crises, both English and Romanian, Occupied is a contemporary look at immigrants in London and takes an irreverent approach to prevailing cultural stereotypes.

First performed at Theatre503’s Labfest in 2012 to critical acclaim, Occupied is directed by Anna Mors (Kevin Spacey Grant for Emerging Artist 2013) and designed by Petra Hjortsberg.

The cast includes Mark Conway, Josie Dunn, Joe Marsh and Fiz Marcus.

Carla Grauls is a London-based writer and Artistic Director of the Hurlyburly Theatre Company. Recently she won the 2013 Nick Darke Award and was shortlisted for Hightide’s Escalator Plays scheme. Her work has been performed at Theatre503 at Labfest 2012 and Little Pieces of Gold’s Festopia in 2013. She was selected for the Puglia Experience Screenwriting Fellowship in 2011 and won the Euroscript Screen Story Contest in 2009. She has also had her work recognised at the BBC as part of their 2008 Sharps Competition and as a finalist in the 2008 Channel 4 Talent Awards.

Tickets: £15, £10 concessions, pay what you can on Sundays. To book, call the box office on 020 7978 7040 or visit

Times: Tuesday to Saturday at 7.45pm; Sundays at 5pm.

Annie Hulley’s first play, Dog Days, continues at Theatre503 until Saturday, March 22, 2014.