Follow Us on Twitter

Sonia Friedman Productions wins six Tony Awards plus winners in full

Current cast of The Ferryman. Photo credit: Johan Persson.

SONIA Friedman Productions is celebrating this morning after last night claiming six wins from the 15 nominations it had garnered in the 2019 Tony Awards.

SFP and co-producer Neal Street Productions picked up four awards for The Ferryman while SFP and co-producers The Almeida and Manhattan Theatre Club won two awards for Ink.

Sonia Friedman said: “I am thrilled that these wonderful productions have been recognised by the Tony voters with these Awards. It has been a privilege to work with all the wonderful creative teams, casts, technical teams and of course our co-producers to bring these productions to Broadway. I want to take this opportunity to congratulate all of this year’s winners.”

For the second year running a play produced by SFP has won the Best New Play and Best Director Awards as Jez Butterworth wins for The Ferryman and Sam Mendes wins the Best Director Award. Last year, SFP’s production of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child won six Tony Awards, including Best New Play and Best Director. Both productions also picked up the awards for those categories in the 2017 and 2018 Olivier Awards.

Sam Mendes said: “It’s a little bit bonkers trying to make theatre on Broadway – to be dealing with something so fragile in such a rough and tumble environment. But when it works, it’s like nowhere else in the world. So I’m hugely grateful for the embrace New York has given this play and production…I’ve lost count of the times on this job that I’ve counted my lucky stars. And now, again, I’m left to reflect on what a privilege – what an absolute privilege it is – to be able to tell stories for a living.”

Full list of SFP winners

Best play
The Ferryman by Jez Butterworth

Best performance by an actor in a featured role in a play
Bertie Carvel, Ink

Best scenic design of a play
Rob Howell, The Ferryman

Best costume design of a play
Rob Howell, The Ferryman

Best lighting design of a play
Neil Austin, Ink

Best direction of a play
Sam Mendes, The Ferryman

Another British win was for Hadestown, Anaïs Mitchell’s musical which opened at the National Theatre in November 2018. It received the awards for Best Musical, Best Director of a Musical for Rachel Chavkin and Best Featured Actor in a Musical for André de Shields.

Full List of Winners (winners in bold)

Best Actor in a Play

Paddy Considine, The Ferryman
Bryan Cranston, Network
Jeff Daniels, To Kill a Mockingbird
Adam Driver, Burn This
Jeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Best Actress in a Play

Annette Bening, All My Sons
Laura Donnelly, The Ferryman
Elaine May, The Waverly Gallery
Janet McTeer, Bernhardt/Hamlet
Laurie Metcalf, Hillary and Clinton

Best Actor in a Musical

Brooks Ashmanskas, The Prom
Derrick Baskin, Ain’t Too Proud
Alex Brightman, Beetlejuice
Damon Daunno, Oklahoma!
Santino Fontana, Tootsie

Best Actress in a Musical

Stephanie J. Block, The Cher Show
Caitlin Kinnunen, The Prom
Beth Leavel, The Prom
Eva Noblezada, Hadestown
Kelli O’Hara, Kiss Me, Kate

Best Revival of a Play

All My Sons
The Boys in the Band
Burn This
Torch Song
The Waverly Gallery

Best Musical

Ain’t Too Proud

The Prom

Best Play

Choir Boy
The Ferryman
Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus
What the Constitution Means to Me

Best Revival of a Musical

Kiss Me, Kate

Best Director of a Play

Rupert Goold, Ink
Sam Mendes, The Ferryman
Bartlett Sher, To Kill a Mockingbird
Ivo Van Hove, Network
George C Wolfe, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus

Best Director of a Musical

Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown
Scott Ellis, Tootsie
Daniel Fish, Oklahoma!
Des McAnuff, Ain’t Too Proud
Casey Nicholaw, The Prom

Best Featured Actor in a Play

Bertie Carvel, Ink
Robin de Jesus, The Boys in the Band
Gideon Glick, To Kill a Mockingbird
Brandon Uranowitz, Burn This
Benjamin Walker, All My Sons

Best Featured Actress in a Play

Finnoula Flanagan, The Ferryman
Celia Keenan-Bolger, To Kill a Mockingbird
Kristine Nielsen, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus
Julie White, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus
Ruth Wilson, King Lear

Best Featured Actor in a Musical

André de Shields, Hadestown
Andy Groteleuschen, Tootsie
Patrick Page, Hadestown
Jeremy Pope, Ain’t Too Proud
Ephraim Sykes, Ain’t Too Proud

Best Featured Actress in a Musical

Lilli Cooper, Tootsie
Amber Grey, Hadestown
Sarah Stiles, Tootsie
Ali Stroker, Oklahoma!
Mary Testa, Oklahoma!

Best Choreography

Camille A Brown, Choir Boy
Warren Carlyle, Kiss Me, Kate
Denis Jones, Tootsie
David Neumann, Hadestown
Sergio Trujillo, Ain’t Too Proud

Best Book of a Musical

Dominique Morisseau, Ain’t Too Proud
Scott Brown and Anthony King, Beetlejuice
Anaïs Mitchell, Hadestown
Bob Martin and Chad Beguelin, The Prom
Robert Horn, Tootsie

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre

Be More Chill, Music and Lyrics: Joe Iconis
Beetlejuice, Music and Lyrics: Eddie Perfect
Hadestown, Music and Lyrics: Anaïs Mitchell
The Prom, Music: Matthew Sklar, Lyrics: Chad Beguelin
To Kill a Mockingbird, Music: Adam Guettel
Tootsie, Music and Lyrics: David Yazbek

Best Orchestrations

Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, Hadestown
Simon Hale, Tootsie
Larry Hochman, Kiss Me, Kate
Daniel Kluger, Oklahoma!
Harold Wheeler, Ain’t Too Proud

Best Scenic Design of a Play

Miriam Buether, To Kill a Mockingbird
Bunny Christie, Ink
Rob Howell, The Ferryman
Santo Loquasto, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus
Jan Versweyveld, Network

Best Scenic Design of a Musical

Robert Brill and Peter Nigrini, Ain’t Too Proud
Peter England, King Kong
Rachel Hauck, Hadestown
Laura Jellinek, Oklahoma!
David Korins, Beetlejuice

Best Costume Design of a Play

Rob Howell, The Ferryman
Toni-Leslie James, Bernhardt/Hamlet
Clint Ramos, Torch Song
Ann Roth, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus
Ann Roth, To Kill a Mockingbird

Best Costume Design of a Musical

Michael Krass, Hadestown
William Ivey Long, Beetlejuice
William Ivey Long, Tootsie
Bob Mackie, The Cher Show
Paul Tazewell, Ain’t Too Proud

Best Sound Design of a Play

Adam Cork, Ink
Scott Lehrer, To Kill a Mockingbird
Fitz Patton, Choir Boy
Nick Powell, The Ferryman
Eric Sleichim, Network

Best Sound Design of a Musical

Peter Hylenski, Beetlejuice
Peter Hylenski, King Kong
Steve Canyon Kennedy, Ain’t Too Proud
Drew Levy, Oklahoma!
Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Hadestown

Best Lighting Design of a Play

Neil Austin, Ink
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus
Peter Mumford, The Ferryman
Jennifer Tipton, To Kill a Mockingbird
Jan Versweyveld and Tal Yarden, Network

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Kevin Adams, The Cher Show
Howell Binkley, Ain’t Too Proud
Bradley King, Hadestown
Peter Mumford, King Kong
Kenneth Posner and Peter Nigrini, Beetlejuice