Follow Us on Twitter

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time - cast changes

Preview by Lizzie Guilfoyle

ON SEPTEMBER 2, 2013, Mike Noble will take over the role of Christopher Boone from Olivier Award-winning Luke Treadaway in the National Theatre’s multi award-winning adaptation of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which is currently booking at the Apollo Theatre until October 25, 2014.

Noble, recently seen in the National Theatre’s revival of Simon Stephens’ Port, will be joined by Rakie Ayola (as Christopher’s teacher Siobhan), Daniel Casey (Roger Shears), Jo Dockery (Punk Girl), Amanda Drew (Judy), Patrick Driver (Reverend Peters), Trevor Fox (Ed), Jack Loxton (the alternate Christopher), Golda Rosheuvel (Mrs Shears), Gay Soper (Mrs Alexander) and Paul Stocker (Mr Thompson).

Completing the new cast will be Katie Elizabeth Payne, Mark Rawlings, Matt Tait and Cathy Walker.

Adapted by Simon Stephens from the award-winning novel by Mark Haddon, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time finds fifteen year old Christopher standing beside Mrs Shears’ dead dog. It has been speared with a garden fork. It is seven minutes after midnight and Christopher is under suspicion. He records each fact in a book he is writing to solve the mystery of who murdered Wellington.

He has an extraordinary brain, exceptional at maths while ill-equipped to interpret everyday life. He has never ventured alone beyond the end of his road, he detests being touched and he distrusts strangers. But his detective work, forbidden by his father, takes him on a frightening journey that upturns his world.

First seen in the National’s Cottesloe Theatre in 2012, the production transferred to the Apollo Theatre in March 2013.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is directed by Marianne Elliott and designed by Bunny Christie, with lighting by Paule Constable, video design by Finn Ross, movement by Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett for Frantic Assembly, music by Adrian Sutton and sound by Ian Dickinson for Autograph. Associate director is Katy Rudd.

Buy tickets